The loss of my daughter Kaitlyn by suicide

On 4-11-13 I lost my beautiful, brilliant 23 year old daughter to suicide due to the illness that she kept from me and all others all her life, depression.  This is the story of my travel down this road of horrendous pain and disbelief, and stories of her wonderfulness as a personImage

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The loss of my daughter Kaitlyn by suicide

  1. Your writing is so heartfelt, Rhonda. Would you mind if I reblogged this post as a reminder and a wake up call to my followers?

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Jennifer, you may reblog anything of mine that you wish. Thank you for sharing it.

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on Jennifer's Journal and commented:
    Rhonda deals with the loss of her beautiful daughter last spring by blogging about it. Heart-wrenching, powerful, and beautifully written, she tells how even those closest to us often keep depression hidden. Please ask for help if this is you.

    Like

  4. mewhoami says:

    Rhonda, I am so sorry for your loss. It is good that you are able to use this blog to help others who may know someone dealing with depression. They need to know that they are not alone.

    Like

  5. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. I’m glad it does others some good. I know it does me.

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    Thank you for reblogging my post. I hope it helps someone.

    Like

  7. Me too, Rhonda. Hugs. x

    Like

  8. Uncle Spike says:

    Thank you for sharing Rhonda, what must be a heartache beyond comprehension. I lost a fiancé to an overdose when I was 19 and all I could ever think was “Why?”. I never found the answer, but I learned to move on and 6 years later was happily married, then widowed 15 years later and now remarried and very happy. Ok, so I know about ‘loss’, but never a child, so I won’t say I know how you feel or any other irrelevant niceties. Thank you for sharing; both as a way to help you celebrate her life, and perhaps to save another as maybe someone out there just ‘needs’ to read this. May she be resting in peace now – she was so beautiful, and will always be.

    Just a thought… have you ever seen http://www.gonetoosoon.org – it’s an excellent place to create an online memorial site, and is a community that share together.

    Like

  9. Uncle Spike says:

    Thanks Jennifer

    Like

  10. gatito2 says:

    Thank you for your kind comments. I’m so sorry for your losses. All losses are different, but they all hurt.

    I will check out that website. I appreciate you looking at my blog.

    Like

  11. Uncle Spike says:

    I had a look at a few of your posts (note stats from Turkey). Anyway, I felt almost an intruder in what are such personal narratives. And as for clicking ‘like’, that felt so wrong.

    All different, very true, and there is no ‘right way’ to grieve, don’t care what anyone says. The sadness is the easy bit; it’s the anger and resentment at the continuation of the world that is the hardest part to fathom.

    I often deal with serious issues through wry humor. If I ever do that, please don’t be offended; I mean no harm.

    Like

  12. gatito2 says:

    I so agree with your assessment on grief. No worries about your humor. I’m only offended at people who intentionally say mean things and you have not said anything that would offend me.

    Like

  13. gatito2 says:

    Oh and never feel like an intruder on my blog. It’s meant for all to see even though it comes from the depths of my soul.

    Like

  14. Uncle Spike says:

    Thank you Rhonda.

    Like

  15. irodger says:

    I am so sorry to hear of your loss, your daughter looked a beautiful young lady and must have made you very proud. I am afraid I felt a bit uncomfortable clicking Like but I hope my words make up for it. Ian.

    Like

  16. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. I know what “like” means here. It is showing your compassion and understanding and I thank you. I am very proud of her.

    Like

  17. pen.io says:

    Your style is sso unique in comparison to oter people I’ve read
    stuff from. Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this web site.

    Like

  18. Anonymous says:

    I still try to read your writings Rhonda, and it breaks my heart again to the core!

    Like

Leave a Reply

