Beautiful flower

We shared, we shared the love of cats, of the intense interest in the vastness of the universe, the meaning of it all, the love of reading and great books, of science, deep conversations, good movies and series like Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman, Contact, Somewhere in Time, and so many more. The last movie at home we watched together was Avatar and the last series we saw on Netflix was Lost, which I had never seen before and became my most favorite of all time. I was on episode 26, but cannot bring myself to watch another one. We saw at Mayfair “Olympus has Fallen” which was so good it made me tear up with patriotism. Our last meal together was Chinese, just before she drove back home and I never saw her again, just days before her death. Though she was my daughter, SHE taught ME so much. How to be more open minded and loving the way she was. I never considered myself any kind of poet, and I’m not, but I just happened upon one that I wrote for Kaitlyn back in 2011 when I was going through depression myself. Here it is:

Beautiful Flower

I see you there
in the misty memories of my mind.
Bright new, golden flower,
beautiful flower of mine.

I see you there
sun kissed dew on your leaves
reaching for the sky
like a gull upon the seas.

I see you there
Your flowering will never end,
the universe you’ll reach without me
but never to descend.

I see you there
in the misty memories of my mind
bright, young, strong flower,
beautiful flower of mine.

Flower

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

