Lucy Maud Montgomery

One of mine and Kaitlyn’s favorite movies when she was growing up, right on until she was an adult was Anne Green Gables and the sequel Anne of Avonlea. We loved these movies and we even watched it around this past Christmas when she was home. The author, Lucy Maud Montgomery, wrote many, many books about Anne and her doings and they were wonderful. The first one was the best and it told of the most wonderful, intelligent, talented, lovable, but stubborn child. She reminded me a lot of Kaitlyn.

Anyway, before Kaitlyn came home I discovered by looking up some things about Montgomery and her life, that she had committed suicide. I had thought how terrible that someone who had so much imagination to bring such a beautiful person into creation in her books, and to bring so many people joy with her books, wound up being so unhappy she killed herself. I never told Kaitlyn about this. It doesn’t matter how much you have going for you if depression sets in. Here’s the excerpt from Wikipedia.

Death and legacy
Lucy Maud Montgomery Macdonald
wife of
Ewan Macdonald
1874–1942

Montgomery died on April 24, 1942. A note was found beside her bed, reading, in part, “I have lost my mind by spells and I do not dare think what I may do in those spells. May God forgive me and I hope everyone else will forgive me even if they cannot understand. My position is too awful to endure and nobody realizes it. What an end to a life in which I tried always to do my best.”

Montgomery

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

