The Story of Harry

The story of Harry

When Kaitlyn was a little girl in elementary school, (at Edgewood), whenever we would take her to school, she would see a group of squirrels playing in the yard there. Sometimes there was only one and she named him Harry. Sometimes they would appear to be pecking on the ground like a bird, and she took great delight in telling her teacher the squirrels were pecking like birds. Harry was there every day.

So ever since that day, each and every time we ever saw a squirrel, we said it was Harry, no matter where we went. This was not only Kaitlyn doing this; it was me and her daddy as well. Even when we went on vacation, the squirrels we would see would be Harry and if there were any with him, those would be his brothers, sisters, cousins, etc.

Once when we were vacationing in the mountains, we saw Harry with a red bushy tail! He was trying out a new fad I suppose.

It has been many years since Kaitlyn named Harry, and we have seen thousands of Harry’s since. Even on trips that Allyn and I would make by ourselves, if we saw a squirrel, it would be Harry, even up to this day. Harry lives on.

Kaitlyn, Harry will always be here, just for you.

Harry

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Story of Harry

  1. Neal says:

    She told me she loved squirrels once. I forgot what the context was. Maybe it was because my apartment was on the top floor in the trees.

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    There are so many sweet things that Kaitlyn did and said in her life that enriched our lives so much. I have many more to tell.

    Like

Leave a Reply

