Sit Savannah, sit

We own the most hyperactive chocolate Labrador retriever in the world. She’s 4 years old and her name is Savannah. I bought her as a 6 week old pup. I had always wanted a Lab and it had been several years since I had a dog, so I bought this dog for my own.

Why did I think Labs were all nice and calm and sedate? Every one I’ve ever seen was. I’ve seen them riding in the passenger sides of convertibles complete with scarf around their neck. I’ve also seen them riding around in golf carts, all calm, staying put, being so calm and enjoying the scenery as they were carted around the campgrounds we would go to. That was my vision.

What I actually got was the most hyperactive dog in the whole entire world!! She was also a nipper and I have scars all over my hands and arms to prove it. She was so mouthy. I trained her to be an indoor dog, so I trained her to “potty” on command outside. Not an easy feat, especially at 4 a.m. on cold mornings. I trained her to sit, fetch, lie down and shake hands. This was the extent of our training. We could not for our lives teach the dog not to jump up on us. We took her to two different training schools and practiced with her religiously at home. But we could not teach this dog any manners whatsoever. She’s just a big ole friendly dog and hyper. So we gave up and she is what she is.

Of course I bought her a nice Dogloo dog house and an invisible fence around a great deal of yard. Being a house dog was long abandoned as she would have torn our house apart. We love her though; she’s really a good dog.

When we leave the house and return, we always go to her fence boundary and pet and love on her. (We play with her twice a day as well). It takes us forever to get her to settle down and sit because she is super excited. Her butt just cannot seem to touch the ground for more than half a second.

Well, when Kaitlyn would come home for a visit, which was not often anymore since she lived so far away (we always visited her each month though), she would always go to Savannah to pet her. As soon as Savannah would see her, of course her tail would wag and she would go to where Kaitlyn was standing and she would look Kaitlyn dead in the eyes. Kaitlyn would say “Sit Savannah, sit” and immediately Savannah’s butt hit the ground and she would sit there as still as a house looking seriously, but lovingly in Kaitlyn’s eyes. Kaitlyn would pet her and love her and talk to her, all the while Savannah staying put and minding her. Kaitlyn was the only person that Savannah would mind like this. It didn’t matter how long between visits; Savannah never forgot her or how to mind her. There was something about Kaitlyn. Unfortunately, we will never get to see that again. I guess she’ll just sit there like that dog Hatchi forever waiting for Kaitlyn to come back.

Savanah

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

