South Dakota Trip Part 3

Part 3

6-20-13 9:03 pm mountain time

Today Allyn and I rode the motorcycle to The Badlands. This is truly a part of earth that is totally different than anywhere I’ve ever been before. It’s rocky, the rocks are in unique shapes and you can see different layers of color in them. I think what was said is an ancient shallow sea was there millions of years ago, then became marshland, and different reactions occurred over the millions of years to make it look like this. I’m going to have to let the pictures tell the story because it’s difficult to explain the beauty and uniqueness of this place. Also, there are areas of prairie land as far as the eyes can see. There are also areas of prairie dog towns. I have never seen a prairie dog before and they are so cute.

Badlands

Badlands2

Badlands3

At the end of the park, we stopped at a café/gift shop and got some really good hamburgers and I bought myself a book called “Wisdom of the Indian.” I figured I needed some wisdom.

Once out of the Badlands Park, we came upon an early 1900s homestead. This place is authentic and the buildings are as they were when they were built by this family. We really enjoyed it. Also, in the yard of this homestead were holes where many prairie dogs lived and there were so many of them and I got some really good pics of them. The United States urged people to set up homesteads just outside of the badlands in the early 1900s late 1800s and many families came. However, it was very hard to farm this land and most of them left after a year or so.

Homestead

Homestead2

Homestead3

Homestead4

Homestead5

Then we headed down the road again and went to Wall, SD where the famous Wall Drug is. It’s a nice little tourist trap kinda place, but we knew this beforehand, but it was fun to walk through and look at all the neat things. We stopped at Wall Harley-Davidson and bought 5 tee shirts a piece.

Wall Drug

It was a long drive from our campsite to get to some of these places so this took all day and we got back and had BBQ chicken wings on the grill at 8:30 pm, which is way later than I’m use to eating. But it was good. I am tired.

Today was filled with many beautiful, fun, and interesting things, but as always, my mind is filled with Kaitlyn. Once in a long while, maybe twice today, there was a fraction of a second when the beauty of my surroundings made me feel happy, then that fraction of a second was gone and I realized I’m sad beyond words. Nothing will ever be beautiful again without Kaitlyn in this world. It just won’t.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to South Dakota Trip Part 3

  1. Lucia Woody says:

    What a neat way to do a trip!

    Like

Leave a Reply

