South Dakota Trip Part 4

Part 4

6-21-13 6:50 pm Mountain time

Today we woke up to the sound of rain and thunder, so we didn’t rush to get out of bed knowing the only way we can get anywhere is by motorcycle. We’ve been caught in rain many times in the past, and we have good rain suits, but we never leave anywhere when it’s raining especially in thunder and lightning. We got up after a while and then it started hailing. It was not very big hail, but one never knows what kind of hail you’ll get in South Dakota so I’m told. On the weather there were reports of golf ball sized hail, but thankfully that did not happen here.

So we lazed around the RV all morning and I mostly cruised Facebook and posted some things. Then about lunchtime we saw that though it was cloudy, it was less so, and it had not rained in hours. So we thought we would set out to the town of Hill City about 3 miles down the road. We were too cautious to go very far.

Mangy Moose

We got to Hill City and ate at the highly praised Alpine Inn and had beef burgundy and it was so good and the ambiance was wonderful. It is said that Hill City was the 2nd town established here after gold was discovered in the Black Hills and this place was built but it was not a hotel or restaurant, I can’t remember what it was. But then the gold ran out around Hill City and everyone went to the gold rush in Deadwood and it was said that the only person remaining in Hill City was an old man and his dog!

It was said that years later a woman from Germany came and bought the place and turned it into an Inn and restaurant. She ran this place until the 1990s and then turned it over to her daughter who runs it today. The original owner, the woman from Germany, said that when she died, she wants to be buried in the cellar so she can haunt the place with all the other ghosts there! Love that story. Amazing what you can read on the back of the menu while waiting to be seated.

Then we went to a Natural History museum in town where there were many original fossils, meteorites, dinosaur bones, and all sorts of interesting ancient things. There also were many huge replicas of dinosaurs, but I always like the original things mostly because they are authentic. I’ve never seen so many fossils in my life; fish, dragon flies, flies and all kinds of critters. It was very interesting. I love going to museums.

Then we walked on down the street to visit all the many unique shops in town. Lots of authentic Native American items (along with things made in China), and many items in the theme of the west, cowboys, Indians, and everything that is unique to this area. Also there were things that had nothing to do with the area, just cute.

We were in this shop and it had some very nice and interesting things in it. There was some sad Indian type music playing in the background and I looked on a shelf and there was this book about cats. It was a little book with pictures of all sorts of cats on each page with a saying about cats from different people, some famous. I started crying right then because had Kaitlyn been alive, I would have bought this for her due to both our great love for cats. It was all I could do to not make a scene and Allyn, Feeling bad for me I guess, bought a dragonfly necklace for me. Ever since I’ve been to SD, I see dragonfly everything everywhere I go. Earrings, necklaces, bracelets, pins, and even fossils and I had been showing him all of them each time I saw one. He knows I love dragonflies ever since I watched the movie Dragonfly, and I once had dragonfly earrings and a necklace, which were stolen a couple years ago when our house was broken into. I thought it was sweet of him to buy it for me and I didn’t even ask for it.

The skies started looking ominous again and we heard it was hailing a few miles down the road. So we got back on our motorcycle and rode to the campground and we were not inside 1 minute before it started raining and hailing again. So we made it just in time.

We didn’t get to do what we planned today. We were either going to go to the Mustang ranch and take a tour, or go to Deadwood, but the weather prevented that and they call for more of the same tomorrow. But that’s ok, we got out today and saw some things.

Kaitlyn, I fought the urge to buy you things everywhere I went. To at least place them at your grave, but I knew that did not make sense. The weather would ruin whatever I placed there if they were not stolen, but I wanted to. You see, you are in my thoughts in everything I do.

And there’s something about those Dragonflies. I loved that movie. It was about a man’s wife (she and he were doctors) and she got killed. She had a dragonfly birthmark and dragonflies were her thing and she collected them in every form she could find them, necklaces, rings, and even a mobile for her unborn baby. And when she died, her husband started seeing dragonflies everywhere he went. She was trying to tell him something from the beyond. So when one is grief stricken I suppose you try to find all kinds of ways to get comfort. I guess my comfort was seeing all those dragonflies since I’ve been here. Maybe you’re trying to comfort me Kaitlyn knowing that I love them so and I’m left here with a broken heart.

I love you Kaitlyn.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

