It was in the spring

It was in spring, my favorite time of year, when the azaleas of my yard were in full bloom, and the green grass of my yard started taking over from underneath the brown of winter. The cool chill was giving way to warm breezes and the pollen was starting to fall. Yes, spring, my favorite time of year when new life is springing forth, when everything starts anew and there is freshness in the air. On one of these fine spring days my daughter, as life burst forth, the deep hidden darkness you held secret inside of you for so long caused your heart not to see the promise of new life everywhere. It caused you to go into winter, when everything seems dead. In the Grey, black and white that is depression, it wiped away, in your mind, all color of spring, all the color of your beautiful life, your beautiful mind, your beautiful future, your beautiful self, all hopes of a future you deserved, and took you away from us all. You saw yourself as winter.

You, you were always the spring bursting forth in a world that was dark. You blazed your light across a sky that was black. You, who I never knew had winter in your soul, always shined with spring.

So you took your life in spring taking with you the world I had once known, the realities I thought I knew and my life as I knew it. But you never took my love away. It went with you, but is also in my heart to stay.

I will never see you as anything but spring.

Spring

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It was in the spring

  1. Lucia Woody says:

    How so beautiful…

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

