Fried Green Tomatoes

Once again, I draw upon my memories to sustain me.

A few years ago one summer, while Kaitlyn was still in undergrad at Campbell, she was home for the summer. Allyn and I went on a 4 day trip on our motorcycle to Helen, Ga. We took the back roads there and we went through many old towns that people no longer lived in. There were old service stations that were abandoned years ago, old diners no one ate at anymore, and to me, it made me wonder what might have gone on there years ago, made me wonder about the stories of people who lived there long ago. Thinking along these lines, it made me think of the movie Fried Green Tomatoes. This was a movie I always loved. It was about an elderly lady telling a middle aged woman the story of something that happened long ago, in a town that was no longer inhabited, and by that time of the story, looked just like the ones on my trip.

As I said, this was one of my favorite movies and I think Kaitlyn had seen it once and I couldn’t remember what she thought of it. When I got home, I told her of my trip and also mentioned the old towns I went through and that it made me think of the movie Fried Green Tomatoes and that now I felt a need to watch it again. She looked surprised and told me that she had this urge to watch the movie for some reason and watched it while we were gone. This reinforced the reality that we were so very connected.

So, I dedicate this video to you Kaitlyn. I love you.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

