If I Die Young

My daughter Stephanie came to see me today for my birthday and she, me and Allyn went out to eat. My parents also visited me today and all this helped to ease the pain I’m experiencing and that all of us are experiencing.

Of course, so much of our conversation centered on Kaitlyn. We reminisced about all the good old times we used to have and we also talked about how sad we were that she was gone. Stephanie and I talked in depth while we were alone together today.

I was showing how I can now watch my Netflix and my Amazon PrimeTV on my TV without connecting the Roko thing we had to Allyn, since we had to buy a new TV due to the lightning strike the other day. So then I saw I can also watch youtube on there. I had a desire to watch that Carrie Underwood video “I Will See You again” and we did. Then Stephanie suggested a video that I had completely forgotten about. It had come out a year or two ago and I loved it the first time I heard it. It’s called “If I die Young.”

This song talks about dying young which reminds me of Kaitlyn. Also it shows a girl floating around in a canoe with a book of Tennyson in her arms. This is a re-enactment of what he wrote in his book “Lady of Shalott.” Also, this was done in the Movie Anne of Green Gables that me and Kaitlyn so loved. This song says so very much.

Please watch the video. Listen to the words. (or read them below the video). This is for you Kaitlyn, though I know you didn’t like country music, I think you may have made an acceptation to this. I dedicate this to you. I love you and wish you had not died young.

(The words to the song are below the video screen)

“If I Die Young”

If I die young, bury me in satin
Lay me down on a bed of roses
Sink me in the river at dawn
Send me away with the words of a love song

Lord make me a rainbow, I’ll shine down on my mother
She’ll know I’m safe with you when she stands under my colors, oh,
And life ain’t always what you think it ought to be, no
Ain’t even grey, but she buries her baby

The sharp knife of a short life, oh well
I’ve had just enough time

If I die young, bury me in satin
Lay me down on a bed of roses
Sink me in the river at dawn
Send me away with the words of a love song

The sharp knife of a short life, oh well
I’ve had just enough time

And I’ll be wearing white, when I come into your kingdom
I’m as green as the ring on my little cold finger,
I’ve never known the lovin’ of a man
But it sure felt nice when he was holdin’ my hand,
There’s a boy here in town, says he’ll love me forever,
Who would have thought forever could be severed by…

…the sharp knife of a short life, oh well?
I’ve had just enough time

So put on your best, boys, and I’ll wear my pearls
What I never did is done

A penny for my thoughts, oh, no, I’ll sell ’em for a dollar
They’re worth so much more after I’m a goner
And maybe then you’ll hear the words I been singin’
Funny when you’re dead how people start listenin’

If I die young, bury me in satin
Lay me down on a bed of roses
Sink me in the river at dawn
Send me away with the words of a love song

The ballad of a dove
Go with peace and love
Gather up your tears, keep ’em in your pocket
Save ’em for a time when you’re really gonna need ’em, oh

The sharp knife of a short life, oh well
I’ve had just enough time

So put on your best, boys, and I’ll wear my pearls.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to If I Die Young

  1. katriter says:

    Thx for sharing this and glad you were with loved ones on your birthday.

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. There’s something about that song.

    Like

  3. katriter says:

    Absolutely. I really enjoy your posts.

    Like

  4. Thank you for posting that video. Beautiful.

    Like

  5. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. I love that video too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

