Facebook entry # 2 after Kaitlyn died

More facebook entries on Kaitlyn’s page after she died:

So I wake up this morning to the most terrible news on Facebook. One of my fellow high school classmates has passed away. I cannot believe it. She was so young! She was the most sweetest, smartest & defiantly the most talented girl I knew. It’s hard to collect my thoughts that she took her own life. Depression is a very serious thing, and should never been taken lightly. Ive suffered from depression for almost 13 years now, and although we appear happy on the outside and always have a smile on our face, we are struggling within ourselves. I can honestly say that I never thought Kaitlyn was the depressed type, with all of the amazing achievements she has accomplished in her life! It’s been almost 5 years since we all have graduated and seen each other, and it’s crazy to think how much time has flown by and how much we have changed as individuals. I remember having a sleep over with Kaitlyn years ago when we were in middle school & she had all of us girl laughing nonstop the whole night! You will be truly missed girl. A million hearts are broken & a million tears will be shed. Rest peacefully on that mountain girl. ♥♥♥♥ — with Kaitlyn Elkins. (by Summer)

I received terrible news this morning. My POMS partner in crime is no longer with us. I am completely heartbroken.

She was one of the most beautiful, brightest, and inspiring individuals that I had ever met.We started our fight to get into graduate school together. I still remember the look on her face when she found out that she would be attending Wake Forest Med. She inspired me to never give up.

I am going to miss our random hikes at Umstead, attempting Lord of the Rings marathons, and our random dinner nights. I will never forget the night we celebrated your 21st birthday, the mischief we’d get into at Dr. Won’s parties, and how ecstatic we were about the midnight premiere to the final Harry Potter installment. She was the turkey and I was the whole wheat. I’m going to miss you beautiful girl. (by Shalu)

shalu

There are few people in the world whose lives could be so widely regarded as special and inspiring as Kaitlyn Elkins’ was. Virtually everyone she came in contact with admired her in one way or another. She had one of the strongest minds of anyone I ever met; even when she was so quiet and reserved as a little girl back in school, everyone knew that she was determined, independent and insurmountably smart. It seems like everywhere she went, she had a book with her. She was a gifted writer and a talented artist, among so many other things. She simply excelled at everything she put her mind to.

The woman she grew up to be was equally inspiring. She was bold, articulate and kept that same sense of determination that she was so well known for. It seems like every time I saw her on facebook, she was telling about her 10 or 12 mile early morning run that she loved to take so much. She was the kind of person who would never give up until she had accomplished her goal, and she’s one of those people who you never forget about, even now that she’s gone. She will be missed. (by Aaron 4-13-13)

You were one of the most beautiful and inspiring people I ever had the pleasure of knowing. A piece of my heart is gone with you. Be at peace, beautiful girl, and know you’ll always be loved. (by Kaitlyn M.)

Kaitlyn, your beauty inside and outside will be remembered. When I close my eyes I see you in the front seat of my microbiology class, quiet, contemplative, and alert. I see you in the Tanzania class with excitement of what was to come. I see your smiling face and your caring gentle touch as you held the hands of children at the COH and your enthusiasm for yoga as Dr. Weaver taught us all. I see your excitement looking forward to leaving Campbell and entering a new stage of your life. You touched my life in so many ways. My prayers are for your family! (by Michelle)

by michelle

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

