Your cat Gatito is well

Kaitlyn, I wanted to let you know that your beloved cat Gatito, who you left with us and is now a part of our family that we love dearly, is doing well and he had his first vet visit with us on Friday. We were really very worried because you know how skittish he is and how much he hates to go into his carrier (oh and I bought him a bigger one). Between your daddy and me, we got him out from under the bed (because you know he senses when he’s going to be put in there no matter how sneaky we are) and put him in there. No scratching or anything.

Then at the Vet the real fear set in. I told them that he’s a wonderful and good cat but that he may take one of their limbs off or take an eye out because he gets scared and he will not appreciate being poked and prodded. Well, a miracle occurred and he was wonderful. They handled him so well and he didn’t even hiss. Now he did yowl when they went in to get the fecal specimen, but who wouldn’t?

He got all his shots up to date, checked for worms (has none), and we got his 6 month supply of monthly worm and flea/tick preventative. Now he does need to lose 2 pounds because he weighs 14 pounds and they want him at 12 pounds. Do they realize how cats get when they are hungry? I dread taking Dagny in Sept because he is 18 pounds. Diet time. He did well all the rest of the day and was quite personable the rest of the day, which I was amazed at because I thought he would be mad at me for taking him to such a torture chamber, but he wasn’t.

He still misses you Kaitlyn. Many times he will sit in the middle of the floor and look up at the ceiling and meow. It’s the only time he ever meows. Other times he trills like Dagny does. I am a poor substitute for you as his new mommy, but I do so love him, especially since he was yours and you know I love all cats, dogs and animals of any sort anyway. He is such a good boy. But he does sleep with me most nights now and when he gets beside me he starts purring. For so long I thought he would be sad forever. Now I think he’s learning to cope with not having you anymore. I’m glad because it’s so important for me for him to be happy.

Now Dagny is still Dagny. He thinks he’s the mighty hunter and loves to stalk, pounce and chase after Gatito and they rough house. No fighting, no hissing, no scratching, just play. But I do think Gatito would love for Dagny to just grow up already, after all he is 3 years old. But he sure can hold his own with Dagny. Dagny thinks he’s just a big toy.

For the rest of his life Kaitlyn, for as long as he and we live, he will have a good home with us. He will be taken care of just like we take care of all the rest of our animals, with much love and care. But I know you knew it would be that way.

I love you and miss you so much.
Momma

Below is Gatito
gatito

Below is Dagny
dagny

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Your cat Gatito is well

  1. A loving letter. I am praying for you and your husband.

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. It helps me to write to her sometimes.

    Like

  3. Gemma says:

    I have thought a lot about what compels many bereaved people to talk to and/ or write to our loved ones who have passed. I have concluded (at least in my case) that it’s because our soul knows that their soul continues to exist, whole and healthy, elsewhere. Not much consolation, I know, but it’s what I think. Here’s an extract from my journal about it: “These thoughts are coming to this page via my pen from a place in my brain that is smart enough to listen to my soul. It’s the same soul/ brain connection that compels me to talk to you in the present tense in a way that feels natural.”

    I love reading about your gorgeous cats. It’s nice that Gatito sleeps with you. Pets can be very comforting.

    Like

  4. That was beautiful. And it looks like Gatito is smiling in the picture. I have no doubt your daughter knew that you would care for him and love him for the rest of his life. He is content now.

    Like

  5. gatito2 says:

    Thank you and I love how you think about the soul. So do I.

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. I know she knew this too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

