Kaitlyn’s High School Valedictorian Speech Official Video

I finally got the official 2008 Whiteville High School graduation DVD from the school and is in high quality and professionally done. (I only had my homemade one that was not very good). This one is good. I downloaded it onto my computer then to youtube. I edited it to start out at Kaitlyn’s valedictorian speech which only lasts 3 minutes. Then if you will bear another minute afterward, she receives her award. You can stop there unless you want to see the rest of the graduation. I would have cut it off at the end of her receiving her award but I didn’t know how. We were so very proud of her and I want you to see her as she was and is, a bright shining star.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kaitlyn’s High School Valedictorian Speech Official Video

  1. katriter says:

    Wow! What a beautiful young woman. Such a blessing. Loved her speech! More more I know her the more certain I am that all of us lost a bright star with her passing. Thank you again.

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    She was a bright star and I’ll never understand why she had to go.

    Like

  3. Neal says:

    I detected a hint of an accent in that speech. When she said hope, or any word where the O makes that sound, you could pick up a slight ‘ou.’ In the first sentence, she said “roads” slightly like “rouds.” Later, she said “houpe,” ever so slightly. It’s subtile, and I’m just trying to write phonetically what I perceived her to say. She also said ‘feel’ the way southerners often say it. It sounds more like “fell.” I say it that way sometimes too.

    I didn’t detect any accent when I met her. I asked her when I found out that she was from Clarkton whether she slipped back into her accent when she went home and she said no. I asked because I met lots of friends in college from different places in North Carolina who spoke like they grew up in Anywheresville, USA. But when I met them during the summer at their house, and around their family they spoke completely differently. I guess the same thing happened after a few drinks. When she said that she didn’t have a southern accent at home, I’m not sure I fully believed her. But, it could have been true after a couple of years.

    The speech was great. I read it before. I love watching videos of Kaitlyn doing anything, because she didn’t just do anything, she did it superbly.

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    Neal, just thankfully she didn’t have an accent as strong as mine. Mine is stronger than anyone in my family and I don’t know why. I’m not ashamed of my accent, but some people mentally subtract IQ point in their heads from the person if they have a strong accent and that’s not always true. Kaitlyn talked almost like the rest of us until her cousins from California moved here to stay (my sister lived in CA for about 30 years before she came back home). Then I noticed Kaitlyn’s accent being not so pronounced and I noticed over the years it got less and less. That’s how it goes I guess, they move away from here and it goes away and sometimes they make it go away. When my sister Gail went to college her accent started going away. Then when she moved to California it seems like it disappeared the day she set foot there. 🙂 I thought ya’ll might enjoy seeing her in all her glory on that day. But then again, she was always in her glory, always .I’m glad you liked it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

