Who Knew?

I have always liked the singer Pink. She is sassy, says what she thinks, and does not worry about what others think. She’s rough around the edges, curses in some of her songs, but I just really LIKE her and she can really sing. I always admire women that are strong above all the odds and my admiration ranges from Madame Curie to Pink for heaven’s sake. I guess I admire strong women.

Anyway, as happens when I got home today, the TV was on VH1 Storytellers and Pink was on. I think she had just had her baby recently. She sang a song that I’ve always loved but I thought she was singing about someone she broke up with. I thought it was a break up song. As she explains, it’s about a friend that died of an overdose in high school. Later in the years when she sang it, it could be about losing her grandmother and other people to death. She thought they would always be around. It’s a totally different meaning than what I thought which makes the song even better. Pink wrote this song as she does many of her songs.

Even though the subject of this song died a different way, they still died and I think about Kaitlyn. She told me it was going to be forever that no matter how far away she went, she would never forget me, be my friend as well as my daughter. She promised. But who knew?

http://www.vh1.com/video/misc/851241/who-knew-vh1-storytellers.jhtml#id=1696267

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

