Disappointment

I quit my nursing job after Kaitlyn died. No way was I going to be able to go back to nursing for a very long time, if at all. The other day I had an opportunity at a non-nursing job that was my all-time dream job. Something I thought that if I could do, I would go to work and look forward to it, enjoy it, and my work would help comfort my soul.

I filled out an application and was asked to come shadow the position I was being considered for. I did this for 4 hours. During that time my mind had to concentrate and I could only think of it so Kaitlyn left my conscious mind for most of that time. However, during my shadowing time, I realized there was much more to this job that I thought and much more to learn in an area I had little experience with. It was much busier than I thought it would be.

So I came home and all the pent up grieving that was held inside for four hours came pouring out the rest of the day. I was also very disappointed that my dream job was not going to be the dream I thought it was. I was looking for something simple, that I would not have much stress in learning how to do, but this was not the case and I realized it right off. I was so disappointed in that and so very disappointed in myself that I felt incapable of doing it.

Two days later, they called and wanted me to shadow again the next afternoon and I said I would. I thought about it and realized I just could not do it. In my youth, I could learn anything and even if something intimidated me or scared me, I would forge ahead and learn it and do it well. But I can’t now. I called them back and told them how I felt and that I no longer want to be considered for the job.

I’m not ready to do anything stressful. I don’t think I ever will be. I am so disappointed in myself. Knowing that I really need to get out and try to do something with myself, but not knowing what to do. I don’t want to lie around here feeling sorry for myself. I tried this job. I saw it wouldn’t work. I go to a psychiatrist, I go to a grief counselor, I talk to others that are suffering the loss of a child, and others that have lost loved ones to suicide. I write about it. I do everything I can possibly do to make things better.

I am trying. I’m trying to rebuild my house, but nothing is working. I feel like I don’t know where I’m going and I’m lost in a sea of uncertainty and intense grief.

I don’t mean to sound as if I’m feeling sorry for myself. I’m not. I just don’t know what to do. I’m lost at sea and see no shore. I feel useless, hopeless and very, very sad. It’s a very lonely place to be. No matter how many hands reach out to help me, I can’t reach them. They can’t reach me.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Disappointment

  1. plf1990 says:

    Your grief is really tangible. I’m so sorry for your loss.

    It often feels to me like when I need help the most, that is when I’m reaching out and nobody can reach me. Keep reaching though – I have faith that your support will trickle through to you.

    Xx

    Like

  2. Neal says:

    I know that you’re disappointed with the result of your shadowing, but interviewing is a step. Maybe this isn’t the right job, but I think it’s good that you gave it a shot. Maybe soon you will find something you can ease into.

    Like

  3. gatito2 says:

    I hope so Neal. Maybe one day. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

