The Box

There’s a box I often write about here that sits on Kaitlyn’s table that is now in my living room. The box looks like an old book and is very thick. However, it’s not a book at all. It opens and it is a box. Inside of it I have many of Kaitlyn’s small things; 2 watches, her passport, her necklaces and bracelets.

Today I added two more sentimental things. I’m a very sentimental person and things of a sentimental nature mean a great deal to me especially where Kaitlyn is concerned. I added two movie ticket stubs of movies we went to see a couple years ago or so that were still in my pocketbook after all this time. One was to the last Harry Potter movie. The other one was to the last Atlas Shrugged movie, part 2. I also put the piece of paper where I had written her apartment address on there. I guess I won’t need that anymore. And finally, I put a small decorated plastic Easter egg that once was on a stick that was stuck inside of the beautiful Easter flower arrangement I bought just to put in her room here at home when she last came home for Easter before she died. I don’t think I had ever bought her flowers before, but I was just so happy that she was coming home; I bought her a pretty spring bouquet, which unfortunately outlived her. She loved the flowers.

That’s probably the last of the things I will put in there. I don’t want to clutter the box or fill it up.

I also have an unseen box. It’s a box in my heart where all my dreams and hopes for her beautiful future are, never to leave the box and will lie dormant forever.

box

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Box

  1. Aimer Shama says:

    I have boxes just like these. Tickets. Clippings. Letters. Pictures. Even a few pieces of hair wrapped with a string that Leah, my once online best friend, sent me. I wonder if she has my hair too…

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Yes, I’ve always loved this box when I saw it at Kaitlyn’s apartment. I wish it still was in her apartment and Kaitlyn was still there. Wishes mean nothing though.

    Like

  3. I have a box too – a friend gave my daughter a crystal angel after she died, I put the angel in her hand, and kept the box. It has red glitter on the outside, and a lock of my daughters hair, her jewellery, receipt from her last purchase, and a chewing gum wrapper inside it…

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    That sounds like a beautiful box and you sound much like me in the things that you keep and cherish.

    Like

Leave a Reply

