Day is Done

A couple of years ago or so, Kaitlyn made a CD for me of some songs that she liked and thought I might also like. Kaitlyn had a very eclectic taste in music and loved everything from Pink Floyd to Beethoven and everything in between. Many of the songs on this CD I had never heard before and some of the artists I had never heard before but I liked it all. What a wide range of music it was! Some of the songs I did know. I listened to it for a few months then set it aside and had not listened to it for some time. Then whey Kaitlyn died, I thought of the CD and frantically looked for it. I could not FIND it!! I looked high and low all through my old CDs, my most current CDs all through my car and it was nowhere to be found. The only thing I know is that when she gave it to me I still had my beloved Mazda Miata and perhaps it was left in there when I sold it. So I was horrified and saddened that I had lost it. Then I looked at all the CDs she left behind and found a CD simply titled “1” and I took a chance on it and put it in my computer and it was the exact same music on the CD she had given me! She had made two. I was so happy.

Anyway, this morning I was thinking about the CD and marveling at her wide taste in music and thought I’d pop the CD in the computer again and listen to some of it and possibly provide some samples on my blog of the music she loved. And I came across this one particular song. “Day is Done.” When I listened to it years ago, it sounded very sad, but I didn’t really concentrate on the words. I knew nothing of the artist. So now of course I have to look it up on YouTube and the artist and his story along with the lyrics of this song are very sad. I wonder if it reflects some of the sadness Kaitlyn was feeling that I didn’t know about.

So here it is, video, lyrics and his story. It’s the sadness of yet another creative person who battled depression.

When the day is done
Down to earth then sinks the sun
Along with everything that was lost and won
When the day is done.

When the day is done
Hope so much your race will be all run
Then you find you jumped the gun
Have to go back where you began
When the day is done.

When the night is cold
Some get by but some get old
Just to show life’s not made of gold
When the night is cold
When the bird has flown
Got no-one to call your own
Got no place to call your home
When the bird has flown.

When the game’s been fought
You speed the ball across the court
Lost much sooner than you would have thought
Now the game’s been fought.

When the party’s through
Seems so very sad for you
Didn’t do the things you meant to do
Now there’s no time to start anew
Now the party’s through.

When the day is done
Down to earth then sinks the sun
Along with everything that was lost and won
When the day is done

Nick Drake suffered from depression and insomnia throughout his life and these topics were often reflected in his lyrics. On completion of his third album, 1972’s Pink Moon, he withdrew from both live performance and recording, retreating to his parents’ home in rural Warwickshire. There is no known footage of the adult Drake; he was only ever captured in still photographs and in home footage from his childhood. On 25 November 1974, Drake died from an overdose of amitriptyline, a prescribed antidepressant; he was 26 years old.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day is Done

  1. Melissa Shaw says:

    HI THIS IS MELISSA. THERES A BEAUTIFUL DRAGONFLY NECKLACE ON PINKEPROMISE. A COOL WEBSITE. ITS INEXPENSIVE ALSO. TAKE CARE 🙂

    ________________________________

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Thank you Melissa.

    Like

Leave a Reply

