Azaleas and Dragonflies

We were in the yard 2 days ago as we always are in the afternoon playing with our dog Savannah. My husband mentioned to me if I had seen the azalea bud that was on one of our azalea bushes. I looked at him like he was crazy. It is SEPTEMBER, azaleas only bloom once a year and that is in the spring around April. I thought he must have seen a pink piece of paper or something and thought it was a flower. Now sometimes azaleas may bloom too early when we’ve had a few warm days in the winter, but I’ve never seen one in September after the blooms have long gone in April or May. He said yes, go over and look for yourself, it may still be there. So I walked over to it and lo and behold, there it was; one tiny pink bloom on one of my huge azalea bushes. Pretty as can be. No other bloom on the bush, no other blooms on any of the many azalea bushes I have in my yard. Kaitlyn, you died when my azaleas were in full bloom. I wonder if……

That day when we were coming in from playing with our dog, at the back steps as I was walking to the door, two dragonflies started flying around me. Each one, by turn, would fly past me, then to the end of our house, and then back again around my head getting closer and closer to me each time. They came very close to me. So I stood there for several minutes until they left, feeling the presence and reassurance of Kaitlyn’s spirit somewhere in the universe or beyond.

azalea
dragonfly

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Azaleas and Dragonflies

  1. A Hot Mess says:

    I think of my late sister everytime I see a dragonfly. They are magically.

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Yes they are magical. Ever since I saw the movie “Dragonfly” years ago (and several times since) I have loved dragonflies. Then when Kaitlyn died I started seeing them everywhere.

    Like

  3. Becky S. Regan says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. I have never been a mother so I can’t even begin to imagine what you and Allyn are going through. Your words touch my heart. You are a very talented writer…just so sorry it has to be about such a terrible tragedy in your life.

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    Thank you so much for your kind words Becky.

    Like

Leave a Reply

