Free seagulls

Kaitlyn, we celebrated your daddy’s birthday today by riding our motorcycle to historical Southport, a town where the Cape Fear River meets the Atlantic Ocean. You know the place. As we sat outside at the water’s edge on a bench, we saw seagulls. These seagulls were not displaced like the ones I wrote about yesterday that inhabit parking lots. These were where they were supposed to be, doing what they were supposed to do; soaring into the sky and landing on water, not a parking lot. They soared and they are free Kaitlyn, just like I hope you are. I hope you are soaring Kaitlyn, in every sense of the word. I love you so much. I carried you with me in my heart with each second as I always do. You are never in the back of my mind, but always in the forefront of my thoughts. Beauty makes me think of you, and I saw you in everything today. I miss you so much.

free

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Free seagulls

  1. A Hot Mess says:

    I believe the ocean is probably the most powerful force in nature. I always found peace at the ocean, walking on the beach, looking for shells and sea glass, feeling the sand between my toes. It is where I always felt closet to my family who have passed. And nothing was better than the time the dragonfly landed on me at the beach. A double blessing.

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Yes, I know what you mean. I felt so at peace there. As I saw the seagulls fly, I thought of Kaitlyn’s spirit flying and it gave me some peace in my soul. And you know how I feel about dragonflies. I feel they are a sign from Kaitlyn when I see them. Some may think this silly, but it’s true. I feel it.

    Like

  3. A Hot Mess says:

    I don’t think it is silly at all – I feel the same way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

