Liebster Award Nominee

Dear Reader,

I have been honored to be nominated for The Liebster Award by http://www.jumbledwriter.com/. I am deeply honored that someone finds my blog worthy of nomination. I hope you please take time out to read his blog because it is very interesting with great insights on many subjects.

Though I do not blog or write to win any awards, (which I’m sure many other people don’t either), I am nonetheless very honored by this.

award

In being nominated, I must follow certain rules, and here they are:

The Liebster Award Rules:

1. You must link back to the person who nominated you.
2. You must answer the 10 Liebster questions given to you by the nominee before you.
3. You must pick 10 bloggers to be nominated for the award, whose blogs have fewer than 200 followers.
4. You must provide 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
5. You must visit their blogs and notify your nominees.

Below is a list of nominees I have chosen. Please take a look at them because they are very worthwhile to read:

http://keepmesmiling.wordpress.com/
http://journeysthrugrief.wordpress.com/
http://thepurplelighter.wordpress.com/
http://headinmyhands.com/
http://thepsychword.com/
http://chadpotts.wordpress.com/
http://tonichestnutblog.wordpress.com/
http://rooterrunner4.wordpress.com/
http://bipolarchristianity.com/
http://katriter.wordpress.com/

Here is the list of questions that were designed by jumbledwriter.com

1.) How long have you had a blog? My daughter took her own life 4-11-13 at 23 years of age. She was beginning her 3rd year of medical school. At first I used Facebook to let the friends of hers know of her death that I didn’t have any other access to. Then I begin to write about my feelings, my grief, my horror, and my disbelief of losing my daughter to the depression no one knew she had. These posts began to outgrow Facebook. One day on a forum I saw a woman’s link to her blog. I asked her about it and that was when I started my own. This was in May 2013. I then took many of my Facebook posts and put them on my blog, then when caught up, I started posting daily, sometimes several times a day and I still do. It is my therapy.

2.) What have been some of your greatest achievements and what steps did you take to complete that achievement? (This does not necessarily have to be related to your blog.)
My greatest achievement not related to the achievements of being a wife and mother, is when I went back to school at age 30 and got into the nursing program. I had 2 small children and a wonderful husband at that time. I graduated 3 years later as a registered nurse with very high honors. The step I took to get into the program was 1 year of prerequisite subjects. What you made in these subjects determined whether or not you got accepted in the program. I was accepted and then completed the 2 year Associate Degree Nursing program in 1993.

3.) Please finish this sentence: Blogging is important to me because….It helps me get all the pent up feelings I have about losing my daughter out of me. I also hope that it helps others see what happens when a mother loses her child to suicide.

4.) What topics do you hope to blog about in the future?
I really don’t know if I will ever blog about anything else in the future because I am so consumed with the grief of losing my daughter that it’s all I think about and all I want to write about. But I don’t know what my future holds.

5.) Who are some of your favorite artists (can apply to musicians, painters, sculptors, writers, actors, etc.)? That’s a very hard question to answer as I love many and I have a very diverse interest. I love country music until I get tired of it, but my favorite of those are The Band Perry, Carrie Underwood, and Sugarland. I love classic rock, until I get tired of it. I am a huge reader and read classics to modern books. I love to read about history and all manner of subjects and my interest in them is very eclectic as well. It would be way too hard to say my favorite because I simply have no one favorite of anything.

6.) What is the purpose of your life?
At 53 years of age, I have absolutely not figured that out yet. One was to be a good wife and mother, and nurse, which I believe I have. It’s just that one is missing. Other than that I have no clue what my purpose is. I’m ready to find that out though.

7.) Did you have a favorite subject when you were in grade school?Yes, biology. I guess that’s why I went into nursing years later.

8.) What did you hope to be when you were younger?When I was young and silly and my brain had not formed yet and I had dreamer’s ambitions, I wanted to be an airline stewardess (now they call them flight attendants) so I could travel the world. I tried once, just by writing a letter to an airline. They wrote me back saying they were not interested so that put an end to that ambition. I was not very persistent at that time of my life.

9.) Referring to the previous question, have any of those visions come true? I have done some traveling with my husband to places in the USA by RV and motorcycle. But I have never left the country.

10.) If you had to repeat one day of your life forever, which day would you pick? I would pick the very last day I saw my daughter Kaitlyn before she went back to medical school. I would somehow know she was in mental distress and depressed and I would sit down and talk with her, help her, and she would hopefully still be here today. Too bad that’s not possible.

For each nominee, here are the questions I propose:

1. Why did you start your blog? Do you blog about a particular subject, or does your subject matter change from day to day?

2 .What is the purpose of your blog? To help others? To vent? To help yourself in getting your feelings out?

3. In each of your posts do you follow a theme during the entire post or do you just randomly write about whatever comes to mind?

4. If you could meet one person in history that is no longer alive, who would that be and why? What questions would you ask?

5. Are you living the life that you hoped for when you were younger? Are you achieving your goals in life?

6. What are your hobbies?

7. If you could do one thing in your life that you have not yet done, what would it be?

8. If you could go to one place on Earth that you have not been, where would it be?

9 Do you believe in life outside of our planet? If you want to elaborate your theories, please do. If not, a simple yes or no will suffice.

10. What is your favorite book or movie? (You can answer one or the other or both).

Thank you jumblwriter for the nomination and I hope all of you enjoy looking at these blogs I have nominated as well.

Again, thank you for the nomination.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Liebster Award Nominee

  1. Topaz says:

    Thank you for the nomination, Rhonda!

    Like

  2. Wow!!
    Thank you very much! Xx

    Like

  3. SusanB says:

    Dearest (Liebster), a hug for your broken heart, and tears for your loss. I wish you hope for healing, hope for laughter, rest for your questions that will not get answered in this life, and hope for your reunion in the everlasting life.

    Like

  4. katriter says:

    I haven’t been blogging for a while. I plan to begin again. I wanted to check in with you as you are one of my favorites. I know the Holidays had to be tough. I hope you have found an inkling of peace somehow. Just sending love and hugs you way ax this new year begins.

    Like

  5. gatito2 says:

    It’s still really hard. Sometimes I escape by movies and funny pictures of kitties of facebook. That’s about all I can muster of pretend. Thank you for thinking of me.

    Like

  6. katriter says:

    I will continue to follow you where your path leads. You inspire me with your raw honesty. Keep being you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

