I Saw You Today

Kaitlyn, I saw you today. I was standing outside in the yard playing with our dog after 5pm. I looked across the front yard, across the road, past the field to the woods behind the field. You were standing there, your blonde hair was long and you were dressed in a beautiful black dress, like the one you wore to your first Opera. I didn’t see you that night, but I know the dress you wore. You had complained after you went that there were some people that didn’t dress for the opera anymore but went casual though many people were dressed up just like you were. You thought that worth dressing up for.

I saw you standing there so beautiful ready for a night of culture, the kind of things you loved so much. You were walking toward me but you somehow stayed in the same place. I was outside about 30 minutes but I looked at you so many times and you remained there, looking at me. Then in my mind’s eye I saw you as you turned and slowly walked away back into the woods back to where I can never reach you or see you, back to where you thought it best you go.

Kaitlyn, I know that what I saw was not you. It was a trunk of a tree perhaps and shadows and lightness in places in the woods, but I wanted to see you so my mind made it become real. You were beautiful Kaitlyn. I hope the opera was wonderful. Maybe I will go with you to one one day like we always talked about.

I love you and miss you so.

black dress

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Saw You Today

  1. luciddream85 says:

    What if it was her? I’m not sure what your religious belief’s are, but I really believe that our loved ones can make themselves known when they know we really need it.

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    I could have been. I’m open to anything like this.

    Like

  3. A Hot Mess says:

    I think it could of been her. I believe.

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    I like to think it was. I believe in these things. But I really know it was the trees.

    Like

  5. Perhaps what you saw was the trees, however I don’t doubt for a minute that she was there with you. She’s always in your heart. I also like to think that those that have passed come to visit me via the birds or the butterflies…or even in the breeze.

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    I do too. I really do.

    Like

  7. You probably already know about is, but just in case, check this: http://journeysthrugrief.wordpress.com/2013/09/23/a-safe-place-a-retreat-for-bereaved-parents/
    Perhaps you might find it interesting and helpful.

    Like

  8. gatito2 says:

    Thank you very much. I’m following this blog but have not looked at it for awhile. But it’s a good blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

