Just a Few of Kaitlyn’s Accomplishments

I wanted to post some more of Kaitlyn’s accomplishments while in school from the album her grandmother Elkins gave her when she graduated high school. It’s full of articles and pictures. (I also have the same clippings in a chest I kept for her too). I will do articles first. I’m very proud of the things she accomplished in her life. She looked and acted so happy. I didn’t know the sadness that lied beneath. That’s one reason this blog is so important to me. I want to tell the world that the severely depressed people in this world may not be who you think. It is not always obvious and she acted as far from being depressed as anyone I knew.

This is only a small portion of the things she has achieved in her life. I have posted other achievements way down in my blog somewhere many awards for many different things. Yes, I bragged on my daughter when she was alive and I will continue to do so in her death. She was an amazing person. You just don’t realize how much. How can someone so depressed achieve so much and illuminate such brightness when she had the darkness of depression in her all these years? It is so very hard to come to terms with.

I’m sorry but some of the articles you may not be able to read unless you zoom in. I did my best with my scanner and editing but I could only make them so big.

These first two are when she was accepted into the Summer Ventures in Math and Science for a few weeks in the summer at UNC-Wilmington. 3 students were chosen from her high school and they were sent to different colleges for the program. She enjoyed it. It was competitive to get into.

summer ventures 1
summer ventures 2

This next one is when she was a junior Marshall in high school. An honor reserved for the highest GPA students.

marshall

These next 4 are when she and other top students that were honored by the Optimist Club.

op1
op2
op3
op4

The next two is when she was in the Scholastic Art competition for the state held at a college (I can’t remember which one, different colleges were selected to host it each year). I think she won 1 gold key for one of her entries.

art 1
art2

Then next one is when she was nominated for Governor’s school.

governor's school

The next was a little competition when she was little. A character award.

character

When she was nominated for the prestigious Moorehead-Cain Scholarship. Neither of them got it but it was an honor to be nominated.

moorehead

The next one was when she was in a math competition at UNC-Pembroke. She won second place. And below that is her scholarship to Campbell University.

math

The next is her playing flute in the high school band.

band

The next two are for another Scholastic Art competition. Kaitlyn brought home 4 gold keys for her work that year. Her pictures are the first two from the left on the bottom, the last one to the right on the bottom, and the 2nd row of her praying.

art5
art6

That was my girl, who I have always been so proud. If she had continued to live, who knows how many more accomplishments she would have made in life and as a doctor. But now we will never know.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Just a Few of Kaitlyn’s Accomplishments

  1. Amazing accomplishments by your Bright Shining Star. She must’ve made everyone extremely proud. I agree with your thoughts: “If she had continued to live, who knows how many more accomplishments she would have made in life and as a doctor. But now we will never know.”
    I too believe that your daughter Kaitlyn would have surely become the greatest gift to Society and Science alike.

    Thanks for sharing Kaitlyn’s accomplishments. May God Rest Her Soul In Peace.

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Thank you for those kind words. I stuggle to understand the meaning of why someone so gifted and wonderful had to be so sad she wanted to die. I will never know here on earth.

    Like

  3. It’s really very puzzling (and terribly disturbing too) when one realizes the amazing talents and the great heights of accomplishments your daughter Kaitlyn had attained. She would have made a big change in our society. It’s surely a big loss to our country and the world.

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    I know, that’s why I can’t understand why she was taken. Why she had to suffer like she did. It makes NO sense at all. I don’t understand so many things.

    Like

  5. It’s a tragedy that such a brilliant and talented young woman is no longer here. Sometimes I think that such exceptionally intellectually gifted children are very hard on themselves (speaking from my experience with Graham). I know he thought so deeply into everything that sometimes the simple things eluded him. Sometimes the ability to see everything from so many angles leads to much more worrying and anxiety than another person might experience. It’s just such a sad waste of so much potential.

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    I agree with you. Thank you. It’s so terrible.

    Like

  7. jmgoyder says:

    She was so amazingly accomplished in so many ways!

    Like

  8. gatito2 says:

    Yes, she really was. She was amazing and everyone that knew her knew it too. But she never bragged or acted big headed about anything she ever did. I would brag on her though to anyone who would listend. I’m a mother….what can I say. 🙂

    Like

  9. My favorite line in the entire impressive collection: “Elkins, who is a fixture on the school’s principal’s list…”. It is no exaggeration to say that she was, indeed, your Bright Shining Star. She remains so today.

    Like

  10. gatito2 says:

    That is a great line Randall. She never once was not on that list….ever.
    She made all As throughout all of her schooling before she graduated HS. She made all As in undergrad except for a B or 2 the last semester, but at that point it didn’t bother her. She still graduated summa cum laude. In med school they don’t use letter grades. They use fail, pass, high pass, & honors pass or something like that. She stayed somewhere around the pass, high pass, and sometimes honor range. I so loved her mind. And everything about her.

    Like

Leave a Reply

