A Long Time Ago Video

I just got the VHS tapes that I had converted to DVDs and put on an external hard drive back today. I had 20 VHS tapes. Ironically, the first DVD I put into my player was dated 4-11-93. The outside of the DVDs had not been dated yet, so I didn’t know before I put it in. Kaitlyn was 3 years old and hunting for Easter eggs. Little did I know that exactly 20 years from that day she would take her life. So that was sad.

Anyway, I just wanted to post a short clip of when Kaitlyn was 11 months old in Dec. 1990. I just love this clip because it shows us together. During the clip I talk of Kaitlyn having to have eye surgery. The surgery was to correct a clogged tear duct in one of her eyes that caused that eye to tear continuously. Eventually after the time of the video, she had that repaired with no trouble.

I was 30 years old here and had just started nursing school that year. And don’t worry, I will not be bombarding you with home videos now. Most of them show family things, and Christmas, holidays, and things like that which I will not bore you with and could only be interested in by the family and would bore others to death. This one might too, but I just wanted you to see my Kaitlyn as a baby and how happy we were and always were.

And Stephanie, I’m so sorry for the end of this video. You will kill me. But Stephanie was always dressing up in all kinds of outfits and dancing around all the time and the end of this video caught that. Sorry sweetie but I warned you! I have so many more of you dressed up in outfits so just be glad I didn’t do more of them.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Long Time Ago Video

  1. Mary M. says:

    So sweet! Your hairstyle reminds me of my mom’s back in 1990!

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Yes, I permed my hair back then.

    Like

  3. I watched all six-and-a-half minutes of this charming video and the thing that struck me was that this child was showered with so much love and attention from a devoted mother. No wonder Kaitlyn went on to graduate as valedictorian of her high school graduating class which propelled her on to even greater heights at Wake Forest Medical School. It is so clearly evident that you reveled in being a mother, Rhonda. Kaitlyn was blessed to have you for a mother and she knew it, too.

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    Thank you Randall. I loved her SO very much! I still do. The love doesn’t go away. I just wish she was still here so much so I could still shower her with love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

