What Dreams May Come? I Wonder.

Kaitlyn always loved the movie with Robin Williams, “What Dreams May Come.” It was one of her extra special movies that she really loved since it came out and on through the years. She had the DVD. To be quite honest, I didn’t really like it and told her so. We usually liked the same movies, but not in this case. I guess the reason being is that it disturbed me. It was about a couple that lost their two children in a car accident. Then not long after that, the husband got killed in a car accident. It showed him in the afterlife. She was left on earth so depressed so she killed herself. They told the husband in the afterlife that he would never see her because people that killed themselves did not go to the same place that others did. The husband set about leaving where he was and finding her and bringing her to him.

I guess what disturbed me so much is that I have always believed that if someone is disturbed or sick enough to kill themselves, God understands that and they still go to heaven. But then again, this was a fictional movie, so anything could happen.

When Kaitlyn took her life and I got all her things from her apartment to my house, the DVD that was in her DVD player was this movie. I don’t know if she watched it the day or night she took her life, the week before, or months before. I just don’t know, but I always wondered. I tried to watch it after she died and I couldn’t get through it.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What Dreams May Come? I Wonder.

  1. Christine O. says:

    I always liked that movie, too. I think for me I loved the idea of having someone that loved me enough to save me from myself. In the movie, she attempted after her children died and went into a hospital. I was fascinated with her state of mind in that scene. Her numbness and the absence of life in her eyes. She played that so well. I think those of us that wish to have that kind of peace so desperately find that movie calming for those reasons.

    Like

  2. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words says:

    I watched the movie many years ago…
    I had forgotten about it…when I donated a kidney 12 years ago, I was allergic to the morphine…
    I was on the other side for 6-7 minutes and in a coma for 2.5 days…the nurses said I spoke fluent Latin the time I was in a coma…I always thought coma’s meant nothing was there…just silent…
    I was always upset they didn’t record it…but I scared one because I was fight satan? I remember some of it…it reaffirmed my beliefs..but then it could be all in my head….
    I believe as you do to a point..
    God is love…as is Goddess…( long story I have always believed in both)
    we are here to learn human emotions which include mistakes…we learn eventually to let go more and more of ego…which brings us closer to the Spirits we are….
    each is a lesson we must learn if not we repeat…each time longer and more difficult…
    its like when you ask “please God grant me patience” it is not a given, we learn the energy of patience, if we keep asking in even jest we keep getting lessons in it…on the other side there is no ..negative….if you say I “don’t ” want to go…guess what the word “don’t is not heard in that prayer….now believe me I am still very much in lessons of human emotions…

    I am not sure if you wanted an answer or even a comment…I just know..I feel…you want to be heard…and you need to be heard for even if someone doesn’t say something ..they are hearing you….and you may be the one giving them that one piece of their life’s puzzle they need to make an original thought, an original decision that could help them move on from that particular lesson….
    You keep writing…it is meant for you even if every question you get is just another question…
    you’ll see the answer one day…probably realize it was there all along, you just needed another way to look at the question asked
    I feel such an incredible wisdom within your energy…
    now feel free to delete this if you wish…I don’t get offended…(well very often LOLs)

    as for the video….that is someones truth…it may or may not resonate with with you…just listen to your heart…not your head…the heart cannot be wrong, it is a gift from God…the mind is ego, its job is to protect the heart, so if it senses you will be hurt…it will start all those “well maybe tomorrow, what if’s all those excuses to not do it..ego is free will….a gift of a gift from the heart…in a round about way…( yes I have been told I am alittle different from people all my life)
    just as your truth is only yours for it is your experiences…no one elses….so it cannot be their truth
    not sure at all why I am rambling on…sometimes I do for no reason….
    soooo I am done ..and I do so apologize if I offend you….I do not meant to….
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    Like

  3. gatito2 says:

    I wasn’t offended and what you said was interesting. Thank you very much.

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    Now that you mention it, I think Kaitlyn liked the romantic aspect of it, that someone would love someone so much they would risk so much to have them back with them. That is the part she loved and the kind of love she longed for.

    Like

  5. jmgoyder says:

    I have never heard of this movie.

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    My daughter loved it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

