Gravity, my daughter Stephanie, and Kaitlyn’s Memory

My daughter Stephanie called me around 10 this morning saying that she was finished with school for today (she goes to UNC-Wilmington in the nursing program) and she didn’t have to work today or tonight. All I was going to do today was sit around and be sad all day. I had asked her yesterday if she would go see the new movie “Gravity” with Sandra Bullock and George Clooney with me, thinking that she doesn’t like that kind of movie like I do, but she said she wanted to go see it. So today when she called we decided on the spur of the moment to go today. So we went to the 2:30 pm showing at the Cinema at Mayfaire in Wilmington. We thought not many people would be there at 2:30 on a Tuesday in the fall, but we were wrong! The theater became full (and there are 16 cinemas there). We got there in time to get a good seat. We went to the IMAX 3D version and let me tell you, we felt just like we were up there in space with them!! Oh my gosh it was a FANTASTIC movie!! I’ve been to an IMAX showing about space at the Smithsonian in Washington, DC. I’ve been to 3-D shows at Disney World, but we have never been to an IMAX and 3D movie and it was incredible. I can’t tell you how great this movie was and it was so intense the whole time. Incredible! We both loved it.

We both teared up during a part of it because me and the character Sandra Bullock shared a same experience. I won’t tell you so as not to spoil it for you. But please, go see this incredible movie and see it in IMAX 3-D to get the full effect. It is not number one at the box office for nothing. I love anything dealing with space, rockets, space shuttles and anything up in the air anyway so it was right up my alley, but I think anyone would love this movie.

This was the last place Kaitlyn and I went to together when we were on our mother/daughter day the week before she died. The last place we went together. Kaitlyn, as I stood in the lobby, I could still see you standing there, your short, soft blonde hair, your slender body, your pretty eyes looking at me and you saying, “Momma, thank you for buying me a 7 dollar drink.” We laughed because she knew I would never fuss about it like her daddy did when we had to pay more for snacks than the movie itself. I would have bought you a 50 dollar drink Kaitlyn. We talked about you during our whole time together, all the good times, all our questions, remembering you and enjoying our memories, but ever so sad. Before the movie started we told each other “this is in your honor Kaitlyn” because we knew you would love the movie too.

When we left Mayfaire the back way, there is a pond behind there. And there on the edge of the pond stood the most beautiful, big, white egret I have ever seen. Like the ones we used to look for everyday when we passed the swamp near our house Kaitlyn. We had a thing for the white egrets; always looking for them and shouting “bird!!!!” when we saw one. I saw it and felt your spirit with us.

After me and Stephanie left Mayfaire we went to UNC-W and she gave me a tour of the school, we ate at the food court and bought a chocolate milkshake for her and a mocha coffee milkshake for me. On the way home we saw a HUGE big, black boar standing on the side of the road. That thing was huge. I thought it was a bear at first, but then we got closer and it looked like it weighed 2 or 3 hundred pounds, had black bristly hair, and was thick in its chest and head and smaller at its hind area. I had no idea there were wild boars around here. I would not have wanted to run up on one walking.

So Stephanie and I had a good day and I was so thankful that I have her to spend time with and do things with. We help each other with our grief over Kaitlyn and we always honor her memory and talk of her. We love you Kaitlyn. And I love you Stephanie. Thank you for wanting to be with your momma and do things with me.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gravity, my daughter Stephanie, and Kaitlyn’s Memory

  1. jmgoyder says:

    I’m so glad you and Stephanie have each other.

    Like

  2. I’m glad that you had this opportunity to do something that you enjoy. It sounds like it will be a great memory to hold onto.
    –JW

    Like

  3. gatito2 says:

    Me too. It was wonderful all the way around.

    Like

Leave a Reply

