A Mother Speaks Out About the Stigma of Mental Illness

Please, at some point today when you have 17 minutes to spare, please watch this video of a mother that lost her son to suicide speaking out about the stigma. She is doing much to help fight the stigma associated with mental illness which is why so many people don’t seek help. Well worth watching, please do. If you don’t have time now, come back.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Mother Speaks Out About the Stigma of Mental Illness

  1. Wow! I watched that with tears streaming down my face. That is something that everyone should watch, even if they think they have no personal interest in suicide or mental health issues. Her message is so important. We need to destigmatize mental illness.
    I plan to pass this along to everyone I can think of. Thank you for sharing this.

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    I thought it was very good and important too. Please share with anyone you know or your blog or anywhere. Thank you.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Overcoming the Stigma of Mental Illness | Hooked on Hope

  4. Pingback: Anti-Stigma Arts Network Project | NAMI South Bay

  5. Pingback: MaDCaff is waiting in the wings… | MaDCaff

  6. Pingback: MaDCaff is waiting in the wings… – MaDCaff

Leave a Reply

