Easter 1996

A few days ago my other daughter Stephanie was here and we looked at some old videos of the family from way back when. I have just recently had all my VHS tapes converted to DVD and Stephanie wanted to see some of when Kaitlyn was little.

We wound up watching a DVD that had Easter of 1996 in it when Kaitlyn was 6 years old. It was of the Easter egg hunt we had at my mom’s every Easter.

Oh the spectacle it was! As I said, Kaitlyn was 6 years old and her sister was 10. Both of them along with some of their cousins were running around hunting Easter eggs. Kaitlyn was running around like fury so fast that we could hardly keep the camera on her when we were trying to get her in the video. Oh she wanted so many eggs.

Once she and Stephanie saw an egg at the same time but Stephanie got to it first. Kaitlyn was not pleased and started crying and having was what we call in the south “a hissy fit.” Her daddy said, “Now Kaitlyn Stephanie got to it first.” And Kaitlyn said “Well I wanted it!” A second later she was over that and continued to fly around the yard. The Easter basket was almost as big as she was and was weighted down so heavily with eggs that she had to drag it on the grass. During this process she fell down and ALL her eggs came out of the basket onto the grass. She stopped and hurriedly picked them up and put them all back in the basket. So there she went, dragging a basket full of eggs, knees skinned and bleeding, running like fury and still hunting eggs.

That was Kaitlyn. I forgot how very determined she was as a child. I had forgotten she knew how to cry and get mad too. Kaitlyn was born determined and stayed that way.

We laughed all the way through the video. Even though almost 17 years later to the day in April she would be gone, we still enjoyed the memory and Kaitlyn’s personality.

Easter

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Easter 1996

  1. jmgoyder says:

    I’m sorry I haven’t been keeping up with your posts – my son and 5 other kids in serious car accident a week ago – he is okay but others all injured and only just getting out of hospital. It has been hell and I know you know what hell is like.

    Like

  2. olgatodd says:

    Stay strong my friend!

    Thank you for sharing…

    ” For I know the plans I have for you “, declares the Lord, ” plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”
    Jeremiah 29:11-13 NIV

    Like

  3. No Name says:

    What gorgeous girls! That sounds like a wonderful, frantic day.

    I also think I had the same hat Stephanie is wearing. 95% of my church clothes were floral prints like that!

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    I’m so sorry about the car accident but am so glad they came out of it ok, and the one’s that are injured are getting out of the hospital soon. Yes, I wake up in hell every day and go to bed in it every night. No wonder the fear of real hell is so much if it’s any more hell than what I go through and the others go through that have losts sons or daughters.

    Like

  5. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. Yes, I use to have great fun buying their Easter clothes until they got old enough to protest what they began to perceived to be horrible clothes, lol! I was never allowed to pick out their clothes after say…9 years of age.

    Like

  6. jmgoyder says:

    I am closer now to your feelings of hell due to this accident because I am more able to imagine your horror that your beautiful daughter was gone. I now know the horror of the fear that a loved one might be dead and, even though I already had an enormous sadness for you and your family, when I discovered your blog, I now understand better because of Ming’s car accident and the possibility that he may have killed 5 kids even though he was not intoxicated or speeding but still lost control on gravel road not far away. My whole heart goes out to you, Rhonda, and Stephanie and your husband and I am at a loss to describe how much I feel for you

    Like

  7. gatito2 says:

    Thank you so much. I wouldn’t wish this on anyone and I’m so glad it turned out well for your son and his friends.

    Like

Leave a Reply

