The Way It’s Always Been Done

I’ve always been rather different. As a child of the 60s I’ve always had this intense interest in outer space, space travel and just “everything up there.” I have always believed in other life on other planets. I would always talk about it at my mom’s and though they would listen respectfully to all I had to say, they would lovingly say, “She’s talking about aliens again.” I never took this the wrong way. After all, the bible never said we were the ONLY ones. I always believed in the bible, but I also believed there were things that were never put in writing and there is so much we don’t know. I’ve said it before Jodie Foster ever said it on the movie ‘Contact” that there billions of stars in our galaxy The Milky Way, that have their own planets around them. There are billions of galaxies out there, each having their own billions of stars with their own planets around them. What are the odds? I have believed this since I was a little girl. I just know. I’ve always known.

That’s why when this movie Contact came out, I broke my neck almost to get to it when it came out. I fell in love with it because it had all the issues and thoughts that I have always had in it. Then when Kaitlyn got older, who also shared my love of astronomy, she saw it and loved it too and it became OUR movie. I have watched it a million times. I’ve watched it twice since Kaitlyn died. It will always be OUR movie and Jodie’s character will always remind me of Kaitlyn. Intermingled with her dreams of becoming a doctor was always this thought in the back of her mind of working for NASA or becoming an astronomer or an astrophysicist. The medical field won out. Sadly her dream never reached fruition.

Where is heaven? Beyond all the galaxies? What is heaven? We will only know when we get there.

Please, this is not a post to start a debate on whether people believe in life away from this planet, or if you do or don’t believe in God or an afterlife, this is my tribute to Kaitlyn and part of what we shared such a great interest in.

And here is one of our favorite scenes:

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

