Where I Used to Have a Heart

Back when I first started listening to Martina McBride back in the 90s I used to love this song. I had no idea that it would one day express so well how I feel since I lost my daughter Kaitlyn. She was 5 years old when this came out. I never dreamed then that this beautiful song would one day tell of my horrible pain and sorrow of losing my youngest child who I adored.

This is to you Kaitlyn…..I love you still.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Where I Used to Have a Heart

  1. Lost says:

    It’s amazing how one piece of music can mean so many things to us over our lives. It speaks to so many different parts of our soul.

    Please keep writing for as long as it helps you. You have no idea how powerful your words are. They’re like music—they mean so many things and to so many people as well.

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Thank you so much. Music does so much for me in my grieving. Though sad, it helps me express my feelings. As I had said, I used to love this song when it came out but over time, as we do, I forgot about it. Just so happened last night when watching a movie, it played at the very end when the movie credits came up and it resonated with me. Then I listened to it again on youtube and it said all the words that are in my heart. I had always thought it was sung about lost romantic love, but as you see in the video, it shows a child’s dress and two children running. However, I’m sure the song could be interpreted either way.

    I will write until I run out of words and then they will keep playing over and over again in my heart. Thank you for your kind words.

    Like

  3. jmgoyder says:

    Beautiful song.

    Like

  4. kpatkins says:

    A picture of me without you by George Jones, sang by Lorrie Morgan, breaks my heart every time I listen to it, ~
    Imagine a world where no music was playing
    then think of a church where nobody’s praying
    if you’ve ever looked up at a sky with no blue
    then you’ve seen a picture of me without you

    Have you walked in a garden where nothing was growing
    or stood by a river where nothing was flowing
    if you’ve seen a red rose unkissed by the dew
    then you’ve seen a picture of me without you

    Can you picture Heaven with no angels singing
    or a quiet Sunday morning with no church bells ringing
    if you’ve watched as the heart of a child’s breaks in two
    then you’ve seen a picture of me without you..

    Like

  5. gatito2 says:

    That is beautiful. I don’t think I ever heard that before.

    Like

  6. Funny how we are world’s apart but yet we love the same artist. Just recently came across another of Martina’s songs, where would you be. I often think about where I would be if I hadn’t had this blog to write. As the band Wison Phillips would say, keep holding on

    Like

  7. gatito2 says:

    It is amazing. I’ve loved Martina McBride since she first came out in the 90s. Though I don’t listen to country music much anymore, I sure have found many of them to say just what I feel now.

    That song by Wilson Phillips, if it’s the one I’m thinking of, used to be my theme song of sorts when I was in nursing school in the 90s. It made me feel so empowered and you really need some empowerment when going through that course of study.

    Like

Leave a Reply

