Hyperbole and a Half: Please Watch and Read This. It’s Brilliant. About depression

I want to share something that I just happen to discover this morning. As I was drinking my coffee, surfing the internet, and halfway watching The Today Show, someone they were interviewing intrigued me. It seems that the young woman they were interviewing has this blog she started a few years ago where she put a few of her comics. This blog grew into having astronomical amounts of viewers and she has a very wide fan base. I had never heard of her before.

They were showing her comics that were absolutely brilliant. No wonder she is so popular. But then she started talking about how she wrote a book and then no one heard from her on the internet for a very long time. When she finally came back she told everyone she had become horribly depressed. She has done 2 comics based on her experience since then. While depression is a very serious subject, she did these comics in such a way that you would still take them very seriously. It was brilliant. In this way, she has become an advocate for mental illness and it was brave of her to do this.

I want to share what I found with you all. Her brand of comedy is so brilliant but her insight into depression is remarkable. The way she described how she felt is so true to how people feel when they are depressed. (I know, I have depression too).

I wish so much Kaitlyn had been able to read these two comics. I really do think she would have not felt so alone and isolated and may have gotten help. All because of a comic.

Please take the time to watch and read these two pieces. It’s so worth it. Yes, she drops an F bomb a time or two in the comics, but that does not bother me. If it bothers you, she doesn’t do it much and just try to look over it.

First here is The Today Show segment:
http://www.today.com/books/hyperbole-half-inside-mind-blogger-allie-brosh-2D11617378

Now here is her first piece she did on her depression:
http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/2011/10/adventures-in-depression.html

And here is the second and last piece she did on her depression.

http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/search?updated-max=2013-10-02T14%3A53%3A00-06%3A00&max-results=10

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Hyperbole and a Half: Please Watch and Read This. It’s Brilliant. About depression

  1. I J L says:

    Oh wow. I’ve always loved her work, but I had no idea she struggled with suicidal thoughts. As someone who has that struggle myself, I think she absolutely nails it—the terrifying realization of how strange and counter-evolutionary it is to not want to be alive, the fear of telling others, the way people react, the hardness and numbness that springs up around your soul—it’s such a scary path. This should be required reading for parents, teachers, managers and counselors. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  2. Neal says:

    I’m glad you found her. I heard her on the radio is couple of days ago and was about to send you the link.

    Like

  3. She’s a great artist. I have seen some of those before, but I didn’t realize they were all from the same person. Her artwork can be a great way to get people familiar with what depression feels like, without having to read a bunch of textbooks. She’s doing an honorable thing here.
    –JW

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    I think she nailed it too and could possibly be the most accurate way anyone has ever described depression. I thought it was brilliant.

    Like

  5. gatito2 says:

    I’m glad I found her too. It was just a fluke. Just happen to see her on the Today Show. Those depression comics were wonderful and I have to say I looked at her other stuff on her site about her dog and other things I thought I would split open laughing. This I have not done since Kaitlyn died, which was a miracle in itself.

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    I think so too. I’ve not been so impressed in a long time.

    Like

  7. jmgoyder says:

    I have never heard of her before – I read all of the links and wow – she is extraordinary! I have never seen a more accurate picture of depression before – amazing. Thank you Rhonda.xx

    Like

  8. gatito2 says:

    I agree. I couldn’t hardly wait to share it with everyone here.

    Like

  9. David says:

    I felt like your daughter was telling us what she went through. I understand it better now.

    Like

  10. gatito2 says:

    I really felt like that too.

    Like

  11. Ashley says:

    I love hyperbole and a half! She’s very talented, and really has a way of describing depression well.

    I haven’t commented much, but I’ve been keeping up with your blog. I feel like I’ve gotten to know Kaitlyn well through your words. Congratulations about deciding to go back to work – that’s a huge step and shows that you’re making great progress, even if it doesn’t seem like it.

    Like

  12. gatito2 says:

    I think I’m a fan for life for hyperbole and a half now. As a matter of fact, I ordered her book yesterday. Prime 2 day shipping I should get it tomorrow!

    Sometimes I think I’m going backward instead of forward though sometimes my words might portray otherwise. It’s my desperate attempt to be of some use in this world now instead of just a clump on my couch at my keyboard. It’s just the pain is so intense and never ending and I MISS her so much.

    Like

  13. Ashley says:

    I can’t even imagine a fraction of your pain, and I’m so sorry. You’re not just a clump on the couch, though, even if it seems that way. I’m sure your writing is doing more than you know – not just to help you grieve, but for lots of other people as well. Who knows how many people who your words have reached that may have been in the same state of depression as Kaitlyn? I think your blog is wonderful and helpful and valuable – don’t ever think you’ve wasted your time in front of the keyboard!

    Like

  14. gatito2 says:

    Thank you so much!

    Like

Leave a Reply

