Care Kits for People Bereaved by Suicide

I am posting this here for a friend who is involved in a very worthy cause. Please check it out. In her words:

“Earlier this year, I lost a close friend to suicide. I found him. He survived in hospital for several weeks and then died. To cope, I did lots of reading about suicide grief, statistics, etc. I discovered that for every suicide, at least six people are affected by the death. As about ten people die by suicide per week in NZ, that is minimum 60 people bereaved through suicide per week. At least 3000 per year.

There are many organisations here and internationally trying to prevent suicide. I applaud them for their invaluable work. My project comes from a different angle; it’s about ensuring good support for people bereaved by suicide

I want to create care kits to distribute to suicide survivors in NZ. I envisage doing this through survivor support group, agencies and so on. I surveyed survivors in the Alliance of Hope forum (I’m a member) and collected ideas about what to include: Journal, pen, candle, matches, stress ball, drawing paper, felt tip pens, meditation CD, a book about suicide grief, a resource about supporting children and teenagers through suicide grief, a list of places to go for support, information about dealing with the practicalities, tissues, energy drink, meal replacement sachets, and so on.

Of course, as you well know, material things could never take away the devastation resulting from suicide loss. I want to do something and show in my own small way that I care about those affected by suicide.

I set up a fundraising page called “Care Kits for People Bereaved by Suicide”
https://www.givealittle.co.nz/cause/carekits4suicidebereaved

I appreciate that you might be wary about engaging with an overseas cause, due to security concerns. Givealittle is a legitimate fundraising service, run by the Telecom Foundation: http://fundraise.givealittle.co.nz/?page_id=23 Here is a link to information about international donors:

https://givealittle.zendesk.com/entries/22115136-Do-I-need-to-live-in-New-Zealand-to-donate-

Just to illustrate the legitimacy of this fundraising website, here is a news article about a recent high profile fund raiser that happened through Givealittle and was an amazing success: http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/health/9320521/Dad-to-bes-dying-wish”

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Care Kits for People Bereaved by Suicide

  1. pinterest says:

    It should come as no surprise, then, that Pinterest is fast becoming a top social networking
    tool. If you like something from other people’s board you can “re-pin” it to your own. It does mean figuring out
    where your target audience is engaging (social networking
    sites) and developing a strategy for how you’re going to reach them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

