We Meowed

I know you might not believe this, and I know how ridiculous it sounds, but I want to share with you something me and Kaitlyn did. Kaitlyn and I would often do silly things that only she and I would do. Sometimes some silly thing we started in her childhood continued on to teenage years on into her adult years. We had so many inside jokes with each other that made being with her so much fun.

Since Christmas is coming on, it reminded me of something Kaitlyn and I used to do. There is this Christmas song that we would sing all the way through with her doing part, then me doing part, taking turns and so on. Only……..we didn’t sing it…..we meowed it all the way through in the exact tune of the song. Not just a little bit of the song, but all the way through.

The strange thing about it was, we rarely did it at Christmas time. Most of the time it would be some random time like in the middle of July or something. Just out of the blue, one of us would start the song off and there we’d go, meowing this beautiful song.

The last time I saw her this past April, I actually thought about this song and that we had not done it for a while, but I never took the chance to start the meow off, but I know for sure we had done it at least within the past year. We were always huge cat lovers, so we were just silly.

It’s things like this that endeared me so much to this wonderful being that I had the privilege of being her mother for 23 years. The special and silly things we used to do like this are endless and I will miss them SO much. I already do. Oh to meow with you once again Kaitlyn……

Wonderful, dignified, cultured, intelligent medical school student….meowed with me. That was my daughter.

I did not even know the name of this song, only the tune, but I searched on iTunes until I found it, got the name, and found this beautiful guitar rendition of the song.

Meow Kaitlyn, I love you.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to We Meowed

  1. Heartafire says:

    such a beautiful post, thank you for sharing it with us. We never know when we do what seems like a trivial thing with our children how precious the memory will be later on.

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    I always loved doing silly things like that with her. I asked her one day if she wanted me to stop these silly things and she said no….and I know she meant it.

    Like

  3. Heartafire says:

    I have done such silly things with my son, I love it. He endures me…but I know he likes it too.

    Like

  4. Lost says:

    I never met your daughter, but when you share stories like this I feel as though I’m coming to know her in some way. Thank you for sharing her with us.

    Like

  5. gatito2 says:

    I’m glad you’re getting to know her. She was a very special person. She still is special somewhere….

    Like

  6. jmgoyder says:

    That is delightful!

    Like

  7. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. I think so too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

