Kaitlyn’s Art Work

Kaitlyn had a talent for art, not only in drawing and painting, but making things. She took art courses in high school and her works won many awards statewide and in contests in the county. I am pretty sure I have shown her self-portrait here somewhere before, way down in my blog somewhere, but someone said they had not seen it so I thought I would show just a few of her works. I only have the self-portrait framed. I have to get the rest framed soon. She left them all here when she went away to college. She never drew anything else once she got out of high school that I know of because she was too consumed with trying to get out of college fast and get into med school so she never had time and she didn’t take any more art courses. I like to think that later in life she might would have taken up the pencil, and paint, and charcoal again when she had more time. My mom is an artist and so is one of my sisters and a niece. Kaitlyn’s favorite was portraits.

Art 1

art 2

Below is the self-portrait I had framed and is in my living room.

art 3

This is also a self-portrait. I gave this one to my mother a couple of months ago and she framed it and put it right in her living room. She beautifully matted and framed it and it really looks good there.

art 4

The first self-portrait and the dude in the hoodie were displayed at Kaitlyn’s visitation before her funeral. The funeral director saw the pics of them on her computer when we were picking out pics for the visitation video slide and suggested we display them, so we did.

An original sized copy of the first self-portrait is now in the Wellness Center at Wake Forest School of Medicine where a fund has been established in her name to help medical students who have problems with depression, etc.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Kaitlyn’s Art Work

  1. Heartafire says:

    wonderful , amazing gift with art!

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. I think so too.

    Like

  3. lensgirl53 says:

    I think the gift to create cannot be taught but is an intuitive gift of expression as in Kaitlyn’s artwork. She has left a legacy in all that she has drawn/painted. You and I are fortunate to have the art that has outlived our children. I have Brandon’s hanging on my walls, as well. He was always proud to give me his art as gifts. I truly love the self-portrait of Kaitlyn with her hands folded in prayer. There is a peacefulness but also emotion and intensity …a palpable energy in her hands and face. She is truly talented. I believe our talents go with us into Paradise..forever. God will use it to His glory.

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    Thank you so much for those special kind words. I think she was very talented in so many ways.

    Like

  5. Wow those are absolutely stunning.

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. I think so too.

    Like

  7. Kaitlyn was exceptionally talented in so many ways.

    Like

  8. gatito2 says:

    I think she was too. Thank you.

    Like

  9. Very talented, gifted. Thank you for posting these.

    Like

  10. jmgoyder says:

    What enormous talent.

    Like

  11. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. I’ve always thought so too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

