The Dragonfly

As some of you may know since I have written about this before, Dragonflies are an important symbol to me pertaining to Kaitlyn. I will tell you the story again.

When the movie “Dragonfly” came out (or at least when I discovered it. It could have been years before I saw it after it came out) I fell absolutely in love with it. It is with Kevin Costner and it is about him and his wife, both doctors. His wife has a thing for dragonflies because she had a dragonfly birthmark on her shoulder. So she collected them in all forms, like jewelry, paper weights and finally as a mobile for her unborn child. She leaves and goes to some third world country to help children there temporarily (she was an oncologist and had her own practice at home too). Her husband didn’t want her to go because she was pregnant, but she goes anyway.

She gets killed. After that her husband starts seeing dragonflies in all forms all the time everywhere. She was trying to send him an important message. This is where I will stop for those that have not seen the movie. (if you have not seen this movie it is really very good).

Anyway, after that I fell in love with dragonflies. Kaitlyn knew this and one day about two years ago, she bought me a ceramic teapot with dragonflies on it. It was beautiful.

When Kaitlyn died, I started seeing dragonflies everywhere. Yes they are common here in the south where I live in NC, but I saw them much more often after she died. She died in the spring. Oftentimes when I was at my lowest, when I was outside I would see one or two and they would fly around me over and over again. We went to South Dakota in June and they were everywhere in jewelry form there and when I went to Crazy Horse Monument, I visited the area where the native Americans made jewelry and I found the most beautiful dragonfly necklace which I purchased. The pretty Native American that made that necklace said the Native Americans there say that the Dragonfly represents protection to them. When we got home from South Dakota, there was a dragonfly on my front door.

Dragonflies represent Kaitlyn’s spirit to me and I feel it’s a sign from her when I see them.

In explaining all that to you, I have a dear friend and former co-worker Janice that sent me a beautiful dragonfly ornament (and a squirrel ornament) for my tree and along with it she sent this story. I thought it very special and wanted to share it with you all. Unfortunately, Janice just lost her own son to a heart attack a few weeks ago. After Kaitlyn died she has been a wonderful source of support and help to me and she is always there for me, even after her own son died. I want to share this story with you that made me cry tears of comfort.

Here is the story:

dragonfly pic

Below the surface of a quiet pond lives a happy colony of water bugs. For many months they were busy, but they noticed that sometimes one of them lost interest in going about with friends and in climbing the stem of a pond lily, would be seen no more.

“Where do you suppose they go?” they wondered. Though puzzled, no one knew. One of the water bugs said, “I have an idea! The next one of us who climbs up the lily stalk must promise to come back and tell us where they went and why.” Everyone promised.

Not long afterward, the water bug who had suggested the plan found himself climbing up the lily stalk. Up, up, up, he went. Soon he had broken through the surface of the water onto the broad lily pad above.

He looked about with surprise. He couldn’t believe what he saw. A startling change had come over his old body. His movement revealed four silver wings and a long tail. Even as he struggled, he felt an impulse to move his wings. The warmth of the sun soon dried the moisture from his new body. He moved his wings again and suddenly found himself above the water.

He had become a dragonfly. Swooping and dipping in great curves, he flew through the air. He felt exhilarated in the new atmosphere. Soon the new dragonfly, landing on a lily pad to rest, chanced to look below to the bottom of the pond. He was right above his old friends, the water bugs, who were still scurrying around.

The dragonfly remembered the promise. Without thinking, the dragonfly darted down, hitting the surface of the water and bounced away. Now that he was a dragonfly, he could no longer go into the water. “I can’t return” he said in dismay. “I tried, but I can’t keep my promise. Even if I could go back, not one of the water bugs would know me in my new body. I guess I’ll just have to wait until they become dragonflies, too. Then they will understand what happened to me and where I went.”

And the dragonfly winged off happily into its wonderful new world of sun and air to experience the life it was meant to have.

Dear God, please remember Kaitlyn who has left the pond we live in. Help her to enjoy her new wings. Help us who are left in the pond, to realize our destiny in someday climbing the stalk and soaring with the wings you will give us.

–author unknown.

(as a side note, dragonflies do make this metamorphosis from a water bug to a dragonfly)

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Dragonfly

  1. jmgoyder says:

    What a beautiful post. We rarely see dragonflies here but next time I do I will let you know because it might be Kaitlyn. Love to you my friend.

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. Where do you live?

    Like

  3. jmgoyder says:

    Western Australia

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    Oh, so no dragonflies there then. They are beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

