Existential Depression In Gifted Children

Someone sent this article to me today and it’s the best article I’ve read about gifted children and depression.

My daughter Kaitlyn was very intelligent and gifted in so many ways. Her talents were so many I often wondered how they could fit into such a tiny person. Kaitlyn was very introspective and wise beyond her years since she was a very little girl. She was happy and had friends, or so I thought she was happy, she always acted happy.

I always used to kid Kaitlyn by telling her: “Before you were born and you were still in heaven, there were lines souls would get into to receive their gifts and talents before they were born into the world. You were only supposed to get into one line, but you got into almost all of them.” Then I went on to kid, “And I think you pushed some people out of line and they got no talents at all.” She just smiled and thought I was silly. We were silly like that with each other.

Now that she is gone, as some of you might know, I have searched to the high heavens on how someone like my daughter could be depressed and hide her depression so well. I always knew how she could be depressed because it does not matter what you have going for you, depression can hit anyone. But still I wondered. I also wonder and still do, how she could have hidden it behind such a seemingly happy face and life.

This article does put into perspective some of the challenges gifted children have in the way they think and see the world. I found it very interesting and informative.

Here’s the article:

http://theunboundedspirit.com/existential-depression-in-gifted-children/

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Existential Depression In Gifted Children

  1. Aimer Shama says:

    I’m so sorry. It is a tough situation when the whole pattern of so what then what we all die anyway sinks in. Anyway this looks like a good read I’ll tell you what I think right away.

    Like

  2. MzDezy says:

    This article was very interesting. I have never heard this perspective on depression and children before. Thank you for sharing. I am not familiar with the story of your daughter, but I am sorry for your loss.

    Like

  3. MzDezy says:

    This article was very interesting. I have never heard this perspective on depression and children before. Thank you for sharing. I am not familiar with the story of your daughter, but I am sorry for your loss.

    Like

  4. Aimer Shama says:

    Amazing. I reblogged it. I remember the scorn and the hostility of those around me when I asked what the meaning of life was all the way till college and it wasn’t helped when my mother died. Thank you. Sorry.

    Like

  5. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. I thought the article was very interesting as well.

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    Very intelligent people don’t always feel like they fit in. They think differently than the average person. They don’t feel like they are better than everyone else, just different. It’s sad that it has to be that way.

    Like

  7. Brenda says:

    Kids are pretty amazing at learning to say what others want to hear. They see you get sad, and they don’t want to make you sad, so they learn what not to say. Without us realizing they are editing themselves. Intelligent kids are so smart, we can’t know what they are thinking or what conclusions they draw, over and above where the conversation started. Or they are essentially private. It’s not your fault. You sound like an excellent mom.

    Like

  8. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. I tried to be a good mom and I really do believe I was to her and to my other daughter. It’s just that I’m so trying to understand the reasons. You are so right in your comments.

    Like

  9. Brenda says:

    We all need validation (and hugs). Speaking as another mom, mostly you do things for the best reasons, but kids have their own agenda. And you can’t control everything they do or think. You loved her. She must have known that and treasured it.

    Like

  10. Aimer Shama says:

    That’s true. It reaches the point that some children now prefer to feint stupidity, as being clever appears to be “uncool”, and keep their deep characters a secret to themselves.

    Like

  11. Aimer Shama says:

    You’re most welcome.

    Like

  12. jmgoyder says:

    Omg that was me as a child. I don’t think I was particularly gifted but the rest fits – wow Rhonda thank you for this! And maybe it does help in understanding the mystery of your why? Xxxxx

    Like

  13. jmgoyder says:

    Your description of Kaitlyn’s introspectiveness and wisdom as a child has struck such a cord in me because my whole childhood came flooding back.

    Like

  14. gatito2 says:

    I thought it was very eye opening too. It does help in my understanding.

    Like

  15. gatito2 says:

    I’m glad you found the article as interesting as I did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

