On The Disney Boardwalk

Do you know how sometimes certain situations in time stick in your mind over the years? It’s as if a snapshot with the memory of it is permanently fixed into your memory bank. Many times they are regular incidences with no great reason for them to get burned into your memory other than they were just special for some reason.

I have many such memories like this burned into my memory of my whole entire life, and with my husband and children.

One such memory is years ago when Kaitlyn was around 8 years old. She was going through a hat phase. She just loved all kinds of hats. The memory is of a moment in time when Allyn, me, Stephanie and Kaitlyn were at Disney World. We were in the part on the property called “The Boardwalk.” It was night time. There was a vendor in the middle of the walkway selling hats. Kaitlyn looked at the hats and of course wanted one. She picked out a little tan hat that had a rim all the way around it and had a band with Disney Characters all around it.

I remember we bought the hat for her (or she bought it for herself. Our children saved their allowance all year to buy things at Disney World). I remember her with that hat on. Such a pretty little blonde headed thing that I adored. We stood there and she put her arms around my waist and I remember holding her close to me and thinking and feeling the great love I had for that child. Our little family always told each other that we loved each other very often, several times a day and we always were free with hugs and love and closeness. Kaitlyn was full of love and gave it to me freely. So many times as we walked she would just grab ahold of me and she let me love her all I wanted.

It’s memories like that one that are so important to me.

My experiences with all my family are unique and have their own special memories that I cherish. But I so miss the closeness that I had with that sweet, wonderful child right on up until the last moment I saw her.

I remember you on the Disney Boardwalk…..my wonderful, sweet child. I miss you so.

horse

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

