So Many Beautiful Lives Gone

I belong to a forum for people that have lost loved ones to suicide. This is a video a guy made that just lost his girlfriend last month. It made me cry. I feel so bad for him….for her….her family. It’s horrible how many beautiful lives we lose to suicide.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to So Many Beautiful Lives Gone

  1. Brenda says:

    Oh, that is so sad. Blessings, Brenda

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    It made me cry. She was 23.

    Like

  3. Rhonda – There’s no way around the sadness, loneliness and perpetual loss we feel. No matter how many times we ask God why, why my child – there doesn’t seem to be an answer. I’ve come to believe there’s no such thing as recovery. It’s a process of reclaiming ourselves, knowing we’ll never be the same as before.

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    I believe that is true.

    Like

  5. That is very sad. If you don’t mind me asking what is the forum you belong to? I’ve lost a few people to suicide myself. It’s very hard. I can never seem to stop blaming myself for not seeing it coming or saying something when I noticed something off.

    I wish you peace and I’m sending good vibes your way.

    Like

  6. Brenda says:

    Tragic. No other word.

    Like

  7. jmgoyder says:

    Made me cry too. What a beautiful girl.

    Like

  8. gatito2 says:

    It is so sad.

    Like

  9. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. Here is the link to the forum I belong to: http://forum.forsuicidesurvivors.com/index.php It’s called The Alliance of Hope for Suicide Survivors. There’s more on there other than just the forums too. If you want to comment on there, make sure you go to the “Introduce yourself” section and introduce yourself first. They have many sections. It is a great forum with much support. Everyone is nice. It doesn’t have a lot of traffic, but it’s really good.

    Like

  10. Heartbreaking. Such a very beautiful girl, no one would be able to detect anything other than joy and playfulness in her eyes.
    Somehow I used to think that if your kids made it past 21 (without dying in a car accident) that they would be okay. I never realized that the early 20’s are still so risky for so many of them.

    Like

  11. gatito2 says:

    I thought the same thing. I also thought anyone that looks happy and acts happy, was in fact, happy. Boy was I SO wrong.

    Like

  12. sknicholls says:

    Tragic, but a beautiful tribute to an enchanting soul. Knowing the stigma associated with depression and other forms of mental illness, I thought it interesting that he hung the images on a clothesline…like metaphorically airing the dirty laundry. I grew up in a family plagued by mental illness and suicide. It was all so hush, hush and secretive. Mama didn’t commit suicide, she, “Accidently overdosed.” April Michelle is so full of life and love, brightness and happiness in these images that it is hard to imagine her any other way. I see my own mother that way. It took a very long time and suffering through my own tribulations to finally understand.

    Like

  13. gatito2 says:

    I am so very sorry for the loss of your mother. That must have been horrible for you and still is I know.

    I was very touched by the woman in this video. No one would ever guess that the happiness in her eyes would be taken away by suicide. I would have never guessed that in my own girl either. Thank you for your kind words. Mental illness needs to come out of the closet and seen for what it is, the result of a mental illness.

    Like

  14. sknicholls says:

    Exactly..when the chemicals go awry, all of the wonderful upbringing, the joys and happiness, the exuberant personality, can disappear in a flash…even if only momentarily…in that moment, so much can happen. “Start a Conversation. Save a Life. Stop Suicide” is the slogan for the La Nuit campaign. There is a Peace be with you and yours.

    Like

  15. gatito2 says:

    You are so right.

    Like

  16. kpatkins says:

    So Sad, My heart is breaking for her family and friends

    Like

Leave a Reply

