A Long Hidden Gift From Africa

On this day before Kaitlyn’s birthday, I have been plundering again in the drawer of the table that was hers. I’ve looked through it many, many times and thought I saw everything. But on this day, I saw a DVD entitled “Tanzania 2010.” It is a data DVD with literally thousands of pictures from her trip to Africa in 2010. I guess they had one person taking all these pics of everything and gave each person on the trip one. I have never seen this video before.

After Kaitlyn came back from Africa, I was so excited to hear all her stories and see all her pics, but the only ones I ever saw were the few that she ultimately put on her apartment wall. Kaitlyn was the world’s worst about telling of her adventures of things, you almost have to drag it out of her. When she got back from Africa, she was very tired and run down from not being able to eat well while they were at the orphanage (they ate very well before they went there at the nice restaurant in the fine hotel they stayed in) but then it was onto the orphanage where conditions were hard. So I guess she was just too tired to go into a whole lot.

She told me stories about the animals she saw on safari, the nice restaurant and hotel, the deplorable conditions in some of the areas and the food that many of them could barely eat because it was tasteless. She also came home bearing many gifts from Africa for me and everyone. But then, that’s about all I got. I am sure that she mentioned the DVD, but somehow we both got sidetracked I guess because I never saw it. I so longed to see what she saw.

Then today I found it. I stuck it in my DVD player and it has literally thousands of pictures of zebras, lions and cubs, elephants. Giraffes, monkeys, rhinos and all manner of creatures I’m not sure what was, the Serengeti, the plains, the beautiful sunsets, many, many pictures of African people, the people she went with, and her. Also the best and the worst of Africa, the orphanage all the little children. I still have not made my way all the way through it.

So on this day, the day before her birthday, she has given me a gift, her pictures of Africa…..all thousands of them. Thank you Kaitlyn.

Below is not a pic on the DVD as I have not downloaded them on my computer, but there were many like this:

africa

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Long Hidden Gift From Africa

  1. That is really neat! It’s always wonderful to find items like that after such tragedy. I’ve been following your blog for some time, and I think it’s wonderul. Praying for you and your family!

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Thank you very much. I was so glad to have found it.

    Like

  3. kpatkins says:

    What a Wonderful Blessing for you and your family Rhonda

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    Yes it is. Thank you.

    Like

  5. jmgoyder says:

    That photograph is incredible!

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    It is beautiful.

    Like

  7. tersiaburger says:

    I “found” an old birthday card from Vic on my birthday. Some may say it is coincidence but I KNOW that there was no card in the cubbyhole of my car the day before my birthday. Not ever!!! I believe your Kaitlin gifted you with the DVD as Vic gifted me with a birthday card.. Hugs Rhonda.

    Like

  8. gatito2 says:

    I think so too. I love these gifts they send us that there is no way they could otherwise be there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

