What Transcends Death

Okay everyone, I AM in deep horrible grief about the death of Kaitlyn. I isolate myself a lot but I do not imagine things. I know I’ve mentioned incidences with Kaitlyn’s cat Gatito before but last night really made me think there may be something to this.

The things that have happened before that I’ve mentioned are these: He will sit in the middle of the floor, look straight up at the ceiling and meow. Well maybe he just likes to meow at the ceiling and nothing more. Then along with that, he sometimes gets on top of my dresser where Kaitlyn’s pictures and her perfume are and meows at them. The thing is though, these pictures are of when she was a child, not an adult but the perfume was the last perfume she used. This is the only furniture other than our couches and chairs that he will get on top of. He does not jump on tables or counters or anything like that. Then the other day he got on top of the back of Kaitlyn’s couch and meowed to the self-portrait that Kaitlyn drew that I have hung behind the couch on the wall. Last night I was sitting on the couch in my den, feeling horrible. Gatito got on the back of our small couch in our den that we keep in front of our never used fire place. He sat on top of the back of the couch turned around towards our mantel and started meowing in the direction of Kaitlyn’s baby picture and framed footprint. He was looking directly at them, not looking at anything else I had on the mantel.

Maybe he just likes to meow at things, but they just happen to be involving Kaitlyn’s things or things pertaining to her and nothing else. This cat does not get on top of anything and meows at other random objects, only hers. Coincidence….I don’t know.

No, I’m not hallucinating.

Kaitlyn loved this cat VERY, VERY much. Every time I called Kaitlyn and asked where Gatito was, she would always say “right here” in her lap. She used to talk to me about how very much she loved him and how much he kept her company. I know that he must have been the last being that she talked to before she took her life. There are connections some people just don’t understand and they transcend death.

kitty

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What Transcends Death

  1. Sarah says:

    I am sure the cat brought her much comfort in times of sadness, and I do believe that animals have amazing powers of perception and are hypersensitive to things. My dog always knows when I am sad.

    Like

  2. lhabedank says:

    I have no doubt that he is missing her and is still connected to her! I’m so glad you shared this– Gatito looks so much like my brother’s 2 cats, Maximus and Marcus. I’ve struggled SO very much with the fact that they were with him when he died. They were alone with him for a week until he was found and I can’t imagine how they must have felt– because I know animals feel so much more than most people give them credit for. I am so glad that he lives with you now because he is a little living, breathing extension of Kaitlyn. I think of you often, Rhonda. Keep sharing. 🙂

    Like

  3. gatito2 says:

    I believe that too. I know he was of great comfort to her. She loved him so much she made sure she asked that he be taken care of when she was gone.

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    Thank you so much. Gatito was in Kaitlyn’s apartment when she died. I didn’t think to ask the policeman when I was there, but I feel sure she went into her bedroom and shut the door leaving Gatio out in the living room. I doubt she wanted him to be around her like that. She left plenty of food and water for him. The only thing is that she sent an email to the apartment manager to be received at 6:00 a.m on Thursday after she had died. But he did not see the email until Friday. That makes me even sadder, if that is even possible.

    Like

  5. Neal says:

    I’m sad that you’re sad. I think Gatito knows her smell and misses her too.

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    Thank you Neal. I think so too.

    Like

  7. luciddream85 says:

    I think animals and children are very sensitive to the things we can’t see. She’s there with you all. Have you ever thought about finding a legitimate medium to see if you can channel her? It might help bring you some comfort.

    Like

  8. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. I believe that too. I don’t know of any mediums personally and with my luck I might end of with someone that is not really one at all, just wants money and makes up stuff. Though I do believe in them, I just don’t think they are as many as we are led to try to believe. Also, I have heard of some readings that gave the person that lost the loved one anything but comfort. I don’t want to chance that either.

    Like

Leave a Reply

