Kaitlyn Has a Sister!!!! :)

I am very aware that this blog and the majority of what I focus on since 4-12-13 is about Kaitlyn. Some of you may not even know she has a sister. I have 2 children Stephanie and Kaitlyn. Stephanie is 4 and a half years older than Kaitlyn and they have always been as much alike as night and day, except that both of them are very intelligent, each having their own special gifts. Stephanie has a heart of gold and would give you the shirt off her back if you needed it. A big lover of animals and has a special love for babies, children, and the elderly. She is currently in college at UNC-Wilmington in the bachelor’s of Nursing Program with future plans of being a nurse anesthetist. She is married to a wonderful man called Steve and has been married for 5 years. She is 28.

I know you all think it may be wrong not to focus on Stephanie in my writings. But my writings are a way for me to get my grief out of my body at least in small increments by my writing. I am not mourning Stephanie as well thank God. I love both of them just as much as I do the other and Stephanie and I have talked at great length about my writing and the need to talk and write about Kaitlyn. Stephanie is a gifted writer so she understands my need. She knows how very much I love her and that I have not forgotten I still have another wonderful daughter.

But I thought I would show you some pics of them together and some with just Stephanie. They are as different inside as they look, but Stephanie has told me since Kaitlyn’s death, “Mom, I think me and Kaitlyn were more alike than you think.”

So this is for you my sweet, wonderful daughter Stephanie. I love you with all my heart.

steph1

steph2

steph3

Below notice tombstones in background.

steph5

dixie

epcot

stephie

stephandKat

hershey

mountains

disney

easter

santa

stephkait2

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kaitlyn Has a Sister!!!! :)

  1. jmgoyder says:

    The voicemail nearly did me in. I am so glad you and Stephanie have each other’s support. The photos are wonderful!

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. I’m glad too.

    Like

  3. observer says:

    They’re fantastic photos (and reminder me of my family pictures growing up in the 90s). You should not feel bad about what you write here. This blog isn’t your entire life; it’s your place to deal with your grief, and no one should assume they know what the rest of your life and feelings are like based on this blog. I have no doubt you love Stephanie more than all the world and am so glad you can take care of each other. She seems like a lovely and thoughtful woman.

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. I agree with what you said. I just want to make sure everyone knows that she is important in my life too. As well as my husband, who I also never write about here hardly.

    Like

  5. grahamforeverinmyheart says:

    I also have a daughter, who is older than Graham by 3 1/2 years. I have never thought that you loved your daughter any less because your blog is not about her. I think we all understand that that this blog reflects your terrible grief. Though I constantly feel weighed down by my sorrow, I also want my daughter to be able to find some joy and happiness in her own life. I don’t want to remind and burden her every time we speak to each other. I’m sure you feel the same way. Writing your blog lets you express your feelings to many who understand what you’re going through, without burdening Stephanie more than she already is.

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    I’m glad that everyone understands. I do love Stephanie a great deal. We still wind up talking about Kaitlyn all the time though. But we do a lot of thinking of happy times with her.

    Like

  7. pappy53 says:

    Absolutely lovely. There is a meme out there that says something like “there are words for those who lose parents, wives, husbands…. but no words for when a Father or Mother lose a child…

    There’s nothing in our language for siblings either…

    So sorry for you loss, too Stephanie. Strong hugs to you both.

    Like

  8. gatito2 says:

    Thank you so very much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

