On My Refrigerator

I wonder if there is anyone in the world besides me that has left their children’s childhood drawings and creations on their refrigerator as long as I have.

Here is one side of my refrigerator taken just a few minutes ago. On it you will see two pictures Kaitlyn drew; one of a barn and one of someone fishing on a pier. She was very little when she did this. Also you will see a paper flower she made. She always loved flowers. There is also a round drawing of patterns that is very intricate and took her a long time to do. And there is her name with bright colors surrounding it. There is a picture of Stephanie that is laminated with a very sweet little saying next to it along with her hand prints made when she was a little girl. There’s a picture Stephanie drew that was made into a magnet. There’s a couple of Kaitlyn’s report cards on there too.

All of them just as I put them there when my children gave them to me so many years ago.

I don’t leave them there because I’m too lazy to put them away or anything like that. I left them there to remember them as children. I leave them there now to remember everything. Now that Kaitlyn is gone they cry out to me. I am quite certain that when I die one day, they will still be right there on my refrigerator.

I always told Allyn that I missed my girls being little girls once they grew up. But I was comforted to know that I got to enjoy them and watch them progress into adulthood and reach their dreams.

I feel cheated that I did not get to see Kaitlyn many years of her adulthood. But I’m even sadder that Kaitlyn was cheated. Cheated out of everything. Everything.

frig1

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On My Refrigerator

  1. Rhonda, I started years ago framing the girls art work. I am sorry to say I don’t have a lot of Klysta’s but I have a few that I placed in a collage…it has helped to preserve them. some of the framed prints hang in my kitchen on the walls as my art work, some have been hung in the family room to make room for the grandsons works of art. So yes as silly as it seems to some ( I have been told so ) I cherish each scribble from the time they could hold a pencil, crayon or paint brush. hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  2. no!,I have some that are years old 🙂 welcome to the fridge art collective, lol

    Like

  3. gatito2 says:

    I don’t think it’s silly. You have a great idea.

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

