Kaitlyn’s Apartment

In scanning over some of my years on Facebook, I came across this group of pictures from 2011 when Kaitlyn had moved into her apartment in Winston-Salem, NC where she had just started medical school. I wanted to show these pictures because her apartment was so beautiful and she took such great pride in it. Though it was changed around a bit before she died and some new items purchased, it pretty much looked similar to this. She also painted the walls in the ones that have color because she didn’t want them to be white.

All the beautiful furniture and things she most painstakingly picked out. The main things like couch, table, dining room furniture, bedroom furniture, I was with her when she picked them out. I had nothing to do with her picking them out because she was the one with so much wonderful taste, but I remember that day and how much fun we had as we went all over Wilmington trying to find just the right things. All the other smaller things, frames, curtains, bathroom things, chair, etc. were bought by her over time. Now all that you see in these pictures are scattered between my house and the house of her sister Stephanie. The only images you see that are not gone somewhere else is me and her daddy. We are still here, but we are not the same. And most of all, tragically, Kaitlyn is no longer here either.

To look upon these items that she held so dearly and to see her sweet beautiful face that is no longer here fills me with unutterable despair.

apt1
apt2
apt3
apt4
apt5
apt6
apt7
apt8
apt9
apt10
apt11
apt12
apt13
apt14
apt15

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kaitlyn’s Apartment

  1. dmeinegraham says:

    Thanks for sharing Rhonda. I’ve been thinking of you often as April draws near. I will pray for you now while you are top of mind ❤

    Like

  2. edgarone2 says:

    Hi Rhonda,
    Remembering is a celebration of life. I’m grateful you are sharing your memories and hers.
    I pray for you everyday.
    Edgar

    Like

  3. gatito2 says:

    Thank you so much.

    Like

  4. Rose says:

    Kaitlyn really did have wonderful taste and I am so happy you have these pictures to remember happier times. What you are going through is heartbreaking and it is so important that you are sharing your journey, as I am sure it helps other parents who are going through a similar thing. I was wondering when your book is due out?

    Like

  5. gatito2 says:

    Thank you Rose. I always took hundreds of video and pictures while my girls were growing up and even as adults. My only regret is that I quit videotaping as much in later years.

    My book has been edited, the cover designed and finished and it it at the publishers being made ready right now. They will send me a copy to look over first before it goes to final print. So, after I do that it should be ready. It’s only a matter of days or weeks now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

