An Important Word About My Book

I just want to let you all know, that my book is sad. It is filled with my grief, as well as my telling of Kaitlyn’s life, and I don’t leave much out in the way I have felt all this year. But with that are areas where it sheds light on many things and an important message.

For some of you, it may be too painful to read. Perhaps you might want to go to the kindle page of amazon on my book and click on the “look inside” icon on the book. It gives a sample. Also, if you have a kindle you can get a sample of the book free on your kindle. And if you still have doubts, look at my blog and it lets you know the sadness that I feel and the tone of my book and if you feel it’s more than you can stand, please don’t read it. I don’t want you to feel worse.

Some mothers that have lost children to suicide or any means may not be able to read it. It just depends on the person and how they grieve and what helps them and what does not.

For anyone that reads it and it makes them too sad…..I’m so sorry. I just want to help people but I also put so much of my pain in there. I don’t want to make anyone feel worse.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to An Important Word About My Book

  1. Rhonda–It says so much about what a kind person you are that in your immense sadness and in the midst of what must be at least some satisfaction that your book is getting out into the world, you are also concerned about your readers’ feelings. I love that.

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    I just don’t want to put gas on their flames of heartache and I fear that I have.

    Like

  3. I understand the fear completely. Don’t second guess yourself. I haven’t read the book yet, but I will when I get it (Amazon is predicting next week) and will gladly give you feedback. I have read your blog posts, though, and your very emotional message speaks to those who are depressed…about how devastating suicide is to those who love them and about the importance of getting treatment. This is a crucial message! I assume it will also help those who have lost a family member to suicide feel like they are understood and not alone which is also important. Your readers can choose to stop reading if they need to, and come back to it when they are ready.

    Like

  4. Uncle Spike says:

    As Sharon said, don’t be so hard on yourself. Nobody is gonna take your book and then whinge that it’s too sad. Of course it is horrendously sad; and that is the whole point. Any trivialisation of the events simply wouldn’t help, and anyway, how many depressed people will be reading it? To me, it’s more about educating the blissfully ignorant to the real possibilities that this hidden disease may lurk in their own backyard with their loved ones. From what I read on your blog, I take the message that apart from the obvious incalculable heartache of losing someone, it’s the fact that you had no inkling that is the hardest truth to come to terms with. Your book will help those who don’t even know they need to know this stuff I reckon…

    Like

  5. wkigerl says:

    Don’t worry. Your book will be very helpful to many people and a great tribute to Kaitlyn. Your writing style is very natural. With your sharing, the world will be better.

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    Thank you so much.

    Like

  7. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. I think I just worry too much. That is a very important reason I wrote this book, to warn parents that are so unaware this could be happening to their child. Thank you….you made me feel better.

    Like

  8. gatito2 says:

    Thank you for making me feel better Sharon. I needed that.

    Like

  9. It is a well written, heartfelt book written by a mother who lost her brilliant daughter. Your relationship with your daughter was beautiful and your loss was devastating! I expected it to be sad and I am glad I have chosen to read it. I have bought two copies for my bereavement group and have recommended your book to a few of my friends. No one will cry more than you did when you wrote it. There is a lot in your book that reminds me of my daughter and that makes me cry, I cry every day anyway since Amy passed away.

    Like

  10. gatito2 says:

    Thank you Dee. I’m glad that you liked my book, well I hate to say “like” having anything to do with the death of my daughter, so maybe the words would be “understoond and could relate” to my book would be better. Thank you so much for sharing my book too.

    Would you mind putting a review on amazon? It helps people decide whether to read it or not and I would appreciate your review.

    Thank you for helping me feel better.

    Like

  11. You are welcome. Hang in there. First anniversary is one of the worst times in the grief process. My father died suddenly of a massive heart attack while on vacation in France on April 20, 2013 having never has heart problems. It isn’t the same as suicide, but anniversaries are anniversaries.

    Like

  12. I would be happy to put a review on Amazon after I finish reading it. You are an excellent writer. I feel every word! Of course, I will cry. It’s sad but so worth the tears! You are touching us with your words. You write from your heart. You did a beautiful job teaching us all about your Kaitlyn and are getting the message out to help others. Never apologize. As a grieving Mom we are being asked to do the unimaginable and I admire you for what you did with those feelings by turning it into this book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

