The Jewelry Box

I was in my bedroom making up the bed this morning and as I usually do, I glanced at the old bookcase beside my bed that has some of my books and some Knick Knacks and things. I got down on my knees because I wanted to inspect some of the angels that Kaitlyn gave me as a child. She loved to buy things for me and she loved angels. One is a ring holder.

That bookshelf brings back many periods of my life that show my interests through the years. All the various books, pictures and even some things from when I was a nurse at a hospital.

Then I noticed the little jewelry box that I bought for myself when we were in Disney World’s Epcot Center where the World Showcase is at the Chinese Pavilion. I had not looked in this jewelry box for years and expected it to be empty, but it wasn’t.

I was not prepared for what I found inside. What I found was a piece of Kaitlyn’s childhood. When she was a little girl, she loved to make things. In there I found a penguin that she made of wooden ice cream spoons with her making a picture of one and pasting it onto the sticks. There were two little bracelets she made out of some kind of thread or something she bought to make things like that with. Something that was wrapped up tightly in a piece of paper. I had no idea what it was and when I opened it it turned out to be some type of clip. I don’t know what it was for but for some reason she had it wrapped up so well. I’m sure she had a reason for that. And then…….there was the little packet that was folded up just like a very small envelope that she had made and on the outside it had written on it “tooth.” I didn’t have to open it to find out what it was and I didn’t. I knew it was one of her baby teeth that she had lost and she wrapped it up and titled it so the tooth fairy would know exactly what it was and it would not get lost under her pillow. When the “tooth fairy” would come, she would take the tooth out and leave money. That little envelope wound up under the tooth fairy’s bed for years until we changed mattresses and I put that little tooth envelope in that jewelry box.

All these little things in that box told so much of the little girl that Kaitlyn was; so industrious, so creative, and so methodical and so very, very sweet.

I cried the moment I opened that jewelry box and cried the whole time I examined all these things from Kaitlyn’s childhood, and all the while I was being observed by all the little angels she had bought me and then I wondered, just how many more things that are so sweet yet so utterly filled with grief attached will I continue to find.

I put the little jewelry box back on the old bookshelf with its contents remaining in it, as it will stay as long as I live.

shelf

box

inside

tooth

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Jewelry Box

  1. hyphenfish says:

    Simply precious!!

    Like

  2. Katherine says:

    Rhonda, those must be bittersweet tears. Such sweet things you found. Occasionally, I come across things like that. Handwritten notes, cards, etc. I was cleaning up my flooded basement today and came across something not nearly so special but something that Donald and I searched this entire house for without success. I found his birth certificate and social security card that we thought were lost. His birthday is April 22. I know you are approaching the one year mark for Kaitlyn on April 11. I continue to keep you in my prayers.

    Like

  3. gatito2 says:

    Thank you and I’m so glad you found those items. I know it means so much. Any thing of theirs does. It’s like saving a piece of them. I will think of you on April 22 too. I will keep you in my prayers also.

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    Yes, it is. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

