“Do You Wanna Lay Up?” A Special Memory

I absolutely cannot believe that I have not shared this memory of Kaitlyn before anywhere because it’s one of the sweetest memories I have of her, and I have so very many.

Ever since she was a wee thing, she always loved to be with me, talk with me and spend time with me. She was not clingy at all, she just loved to be with me and me her.

Ever since she was little she loved to lay with me on the couch and watch TV. It was before we had a recliner couch, so any laying down on the couch would literally be laying down side by side with her on the outside.

Many nights were spent watching our favorite shows, especially on Friday nights when all the good family shows would come on. When she wanted to watch TV with me she would always come to me and say, “You wanna lay up?” I know that sounds funny, but that was our way of saying we wanted to watch TV together laying side by side on the couch. So I would slide over as far as I could in order to give her plenty of room to be comfortable and we would spend such enjoyable times being close and watching TV.

I can’t tell you how much this touched my heart that this wonderful, sweet child wanted to be with me in so many ways and like this. We continued to “lay up” like this on a regular basis year after year until one day she grew so big that she began falling off the couch. Oh we continued to try, with me holding on to her all that I could and her hanging off the edge holding on for dear life, but she continued to fall off no matter what we did. She was as big as I was by then. So she finally had to sit or lay somewhere else to watch TV. Our “lay up” days were over.

But that is just one of the many special times that we spent together that will be forever within my mind and heart because it showed the sweet nature of that child and her love for me that continued until she left this world for good.

I have a recliner couch now and don’t lay on it the way I did my previous one. Now a days the only being I have near me to “lay up” with as I watch TV is her cat Gatito. And sometimes, just sometimes…I hear that sweet voice of Kaitlyn’s saying to me “Do you wanna lay up?” Yes, I do Kaitlyn. I would do anything to be able to do that. But the fact is that you did that and you continued to do sweet things like that for the rest of your life, because that was the kind of person you were, and you loved me.

lay up

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to “Do You Wanna Lay Up?” A Special Memory

  1. Uncle Spike says:

    Nice post Rhonda. You haven’t changed much, apart from the 80’s hairstyle 🙂 (I’m only jealous coz my long hair has long departed)

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Haha! Uncle Spike! Thanks!

    Like

  3. Lee Ann says:

    I loved that story, thanks for sharing it 🙂 It’s those funny little memories of things like this that you remember and cherish so much.

    Like

  4. AnnetteM says:

    That is a wonderful memory.

    Like

  5. Such a sweet memory, Rhonda. No one can take that away. x

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    You are so right.

    Like

  7. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. One of my favorite memories.

    Like

  8. Chaos Girl says:

    This post made me cry. As a mom I know those little moments we have with our kids, and I am so sorry for your loss. We lost my cousin to suicide 3 months ago, for the same reasons as you mentioned in another post, but it’s as a mother that I feel for your loss.Just wanted to say I hear you.

    Like

  9. gatito2 says:

    Thank you so much. At least I have those wonderful memories, it’s just that I wanted a long lifetime of them…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

