My daughter Stephanie and I on The Cape Fear River

Today me and my daughter Stephanie went to our favorite place at the Cotton Exchange in Wilmington, NC and did something we have been wanting to do for years. We got on the boat The Henrietta III and took a one and a half hour tour down the Cape Fear River. They also served a light buffet lunch with ham, turkey, roast beef, cheese, salad, potato salad, bread and tea…oh also some chocolate chip cookies. We did a tour up the river and under the Cape Fear Bridge then a ways farther, then turned around and ate lunch on the way back. It was really fun.

Then once that was over we went into a few shops in the Cotton Exchange and it was all I could do to keep my credit card in my pocketbook. The thing about the shops in the cotton exchange is that they are so unique. We went to the bead shop that Kaitlyn loved so much as a little girl. They have every type of bead imaginable.

We went into another shop we had never been in before, I forgot the name of it, but it had so many beautiful, unique things in it and 90 percent of that store held things that reminded us of Kaitlyn and her wonderful taste in all things. We went into an art store where there are paintings from local artists, prints and originals, and we talked of Kaitlyn and her love of drawing, feeling so sad that she will never draw again.
Stephanie and I had such a good time, but as always, Kaitlyn was at the forefront of our thoughts and in our hearts and in our words, and we took her with us to all the places she loved.

It was a very fun day.

Below: The Battleship North Carolina used in WWII. Now permanantly docked on the river.
battleship

Below: Going down the river. Historical Wilmington on the banks.

river

Below: My daughter Stephanie.
Steph

Below: About to go under The Cape Fear Bridge.

bridge

Below: Lunch
lunch

Below: The Henrietta III

henri

Below and next pic: In between buildings at The Cotton Exchange. These buildings are VERY old, some dating back to the revolutionary times and some at least back to the early 1800s. Many shops revitalized but still have retained that historical feel. We LOVE this area.

cotton

cotton 2

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My daughter Stephanie and I on The Cape Fear River

  1. Uncle Spike says:

    Well Ms Rhonda… what a lovely post, uplifting whilst still true to your blog for Kaitlyn.
    Love the photos too, esp the yummy lunch (with a nice chomp I not our of the cheese slice) 🙂

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Spike, it looks like a chomp out of the cheese, but it is actually not. It’s a large hole on the corner of the cheese. Actually I tasted this cheese mid meal and it is awful. (Is it Swiss?) But loved the other slices, cheddar I think and everything else on the plate :). I had tons more pics, but did not want to put them all here. Just picked out a few.

    Like

  3. Uncle Spike says:

    hehe, I’ll believe you…

    Good days are rare, I know, but this one sounded good at least. I’m pleased for you both.

    Like

  4. JCox says:

    What a wonderful way to spend time with Stephanie and remember Kaitlyn. A way to all be together in your hearts.

    Like

  5. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. We do a great deal of talking about and remembering Kaitlyn when we are together. She likes to talk about her as much as I do. 🙂

    Like

  6. Absolutely beautiful Rhonda 🙂

    Like

  7. gatito2 says:

    Thank you.

    Like

  8. Anonymouus. says:

    Lovely pictures! I’m glad you had a nice day with Stephanie. And what a sweet way to reminisce about Kaitlyn.

    Your writing and your photography are so nice, I see Kaitlyn’s artistic side may have come from you 🙂

    And I am glad to see you writing again. You have the right to post about absolutely anything, as this is your blog, and you always come from a place of love. Even if this were a ” general” blog, I think that Kaitlyn would still be a prominent presence, as she was not some small, compartmentalized part of your life. Rather, it’s obvious she occupies a huge part of your heart and soul :).

    Like

  9. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. We had a really good time and as always, carried Kaitlyn with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

