Our Pale Blue Dot

Ever since I was a little girl I have had this fascination with space. Everything in the cosmos that is so infinite. The fact that our galaxy, The Milky Way, where our planet is home, has billions of stars in it. Our sun is merely a star and there are billions of them, larger and smaller in our galaxy alone. We have not even fully begun to explore the depths of our own galaxy. Many of these stars have their own planets with their own moons. More planets are being discovered every day outside of our own universe. Take that information and if that is not amazing enough, know that there are billions MORE galaxies out there that have their own billions of stars that have their own planets and some with their own moons and that stretches your mind farther then what you can even conceive of. THAT kind of thing is what moves me.

All my life I have believed in life in other worlds far beyond us. That made me very unique in my family, or anyone that I knew personally. But what are the odds? We can’t be alone. The fact that we don’t have the ability to get to these places, does not mean a way to do this does not exist, we have just not found a way yet. There are methods of travel that defy time that we have not conceived of yet. I have always looked up and wondered….I still do.

Also the questions of what is the meaning of life, what are we here for, why is there so much evil in the world along with the good, why do such bad things happen and then such good things? Why have people since the beginning of time waged wars in the name of religion? Why do we as a species have so much evil in us, but yet such a capacity for good? Why are some so very intelligent, and some are not? Are we some experiment or some experiment gone wrong? For someone that takes their religion at face value these questions are not something they dwell on….it’s just the way it is and we will all know some day. Though I do believe in God and even that Jesus came to save us, I believe there’s so much more to the story than what we as humans have been allowed to know so far. These things are NOT all there is. They simply aren’t. That is my belief.

Unfortunately my beliefs or wonderings makes me the kind of person that questions the ways of the world all the time. Once in a while I envy the person that only goes from day to day just thinking about the business of making it in this world and nothing more. Only sometimes. But it’s lonely feeling like this. I could post this on Facebook and hear crickets I swear. Not many replies would be made because so many people just don’t think about these things.

Is my Kaitlyn out there in the cosmos somewhere? What form has she taken? Where is heaven? What is she doing? I do believe in life after death. I cannot conceive that our soul ceases being simply when our body stops functioning. But where it goes and what form it takes I don’t know. I wish I did. I want to know what she is doing. But that is impossible.

As I have posted in the past, I love the new series “Cosmos: A Space Time Odyssey” with Neil Degrasse Tyson. The late astrophysicist Carl Sagan hosted this series years ago (but I didn’t know about it then so never saw it) and this is a new version of it and I simply sit there with my mouth open the whole time. Especially last night, the season finale when it showed a section of Carl Sagan’s speech about our Pale Blue Dot. It put into words so many of the thoughts and feelings and realizations that I have had since I was a young child that no one ever seems to sit down and contemplate. It moved me so much. It takes a lot to move me now a days since I lost my kindred spirit that I talked to about these things….my Kaitlyn.

During this speech it shows the cosmos as shown by the space probe Voyager which was launched in 1977. Can you believe that thing is still traveling farther and farther into space and we can still communicate with it and get info? I think that is amazing. So years ago they turned its camera backward facing earth as it is traveling in space and with these images Carl Sagan spoke very wise words that moved me. That let me know somewhere in this world people think about these things. I am not alone, though I feel like I am.

Now the Voyager is in interstellar space (way on far past our solar system) and it should be running until 2025. At that time it will shut down, no longer able to propel itself and it will probably float around out there until….forever. Maybe thousands or millions of years from now some life form will find it and read the messages we have on it and listen to the recordings we have and they may or may not know who we were. Amazing.

I end this long post with the video that so inspired me last night. Maybe someone out there will understand why it does inspire me. I hope so.

Am I alone?

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Our Pale Blue Dot

  1. Eddie says:

    Are you alone? Never. I thought I was pretty much alone in thinking this way back in our high school days. In the years between, I’ve met quite a few people who think like we do, Rhonda. Here’s some of my thoughts on this, back when I was a much more active blogger than I am today: http://punslinger1960.blogspot.com/2009/11/50-254-where-he-says-i-am.html

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Oh I loved that post Eddie. I believe in what was written there.

    “The better angels of our nature.” Abraham Lincoln used this quote. I always liked it.

    I’m so glad to know that there are others who think the way I do. I posted this very post on my FB page this morning without one single like or reply so far and it’s after 6pm. But that does not make me feel bad at all and I don’t care how many likes I get on anything anyway. It’s just that I got what I expected. See, not many people care about this, unless we got into a group of astronomers or something.

    Thank you Eddie.

    Like

  3. Anonymous. says:

    Hi,

    I’m very glad you wrote this! I too was SO touched at that utterly beautiful conclusion to Cosmos- what a beautiful speech about the pale blue dot. How small our world looks in the infinite space of the cosmos. And how amazing a thought, that everyone who has ever lived has lived their years on Earth- but someday this won’t be true, when we begin to settle the space beyond.

    You are absolutely not alone. I would guess most people have had these thoughts to some extent. I think some people are more curious than others, and for that I wouldn’t want you to feel alone or like you are questioning things too much. My beliefs are very similar to yours, and I don’t think our beliefs are illogical. Rather I think it’s a true appreciation of our precious world that drives us to wonder.

    It’s hard for the mind to wrap around these thoughts- how could space be infinite? But then, how could it not be infinite? How could time stretch forwards and backwards infinitely- but then how could it not?

    Looking at images of our little blue dot, it feels so important that people should not make humans or animals suffer. And what Neil DeGrasse Tyson said in an earlier episode had stuck with me- anyone that’s been born has already achieved something special: how many beings had to live and survive for us to have been born, and how many rivers they’ve crossed, since life began. 🙂 And for someone like your lovely Kaitlyn, and like yourself : to not only have been born but to touch so many lives on our little planet- how truly special is that!

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    Thank you SO much for that. Sometimes I do feel totally alone in the way I feel and how I think. I love that series. So much so that I just ordered the first series that just came out today so I can watch them again when I want to. 🙂

    Thank you for sharing your views with me. They are very much like my own.

    Like

  5. Anonymous. says:

    I would say our views are pretty much exact 🙂 I read your friend’s linked blog entry in his response and I thought it was so wonderful!

    I sincerely hope Neil DeGrasse Tyson does another similar series soon, he did this one perfectly! I think I’ll get the DVD 🙂

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    Yes, I really like Tyson. I have seen him on many series on similar subjects the last few years and he does a great job. They are trying to get people interested in science again. Oh my Kaitlyn was so good in science (one of her many talents). What has gone and passed…..

    I see her up there in those stars…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

