Kaitlyn After Graduation Practice 2008 (very short clip)

This is the time of year when all the graduations are happening. Though I am genuinely happy for all the graduates, I can’t help but reflect back on when Kaitlyn graduated high school in 2008. Her whole wonderful, promising life loomed out before her.

This is a very short clip of when she came home from graduation practice. I have shown this before but I did not know how to edit that 26 minute video down to the 2 minute section that I wanted everyone to see. Now I have figured out how to do it and it took no less than all morning for it to configure all that editing.

Please watch. It’s only two minutes. It shows Kaitlyn’s personality and her humor and it was a very exciting time. I never knew an inkling of what would come 5 years later. I’m not sure whether she did or not. I’d like to think that she didn’t, but I don’t know.

Here’s Kaitlyn at 18.

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kaitlyn After Graduation Practice 2008 (very short clip)

  1. Anonymous. says:

    A beautiful, smart, loving and funny girl at a wonderful point in her life. She truly seems to be the person you have described and knew her to be. I am glad you have these videos that you took so lovingly. You both have sweet, soothing voices 🙂

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. I love this video.

    Like

  3. Anony121319 says:

    Your daughter was beautiful inside and out. I often think about whether my mom knew that she would kill herself years before she actually did. I have her high school senior portrait sitting on my desk in the living room, and I wish I could ask her 17 year old self in that photo if she knew she would take her own life at the age of 61. In fact, I do that with every photo and with every memory. I sit and I wonder…

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. She was beautiful inside and out. I’m so sorry about your mother. The thing is we will never really know if they thought about it years before they did it. But I do have the information in my daughter’s suicide note that said she would have killed herself years ago but she could not bear the thought of putting us through that much pain. But she got to where she just could not go on and had to go on and take her life. I don’t know if this was true (though I know at the time she thought it was) or it was just her depression making her think that she had been depressed all her life. I will just never know. If she hid it all her life then she was the best actress the world has ever known. But maybe she was.

    Like

  5. Anony121319 says:

    I know you may not look at it this way, but you are so lucky to have that final note from your daughter with a detailed explanation. My mom did not leave us an extensive note, just a simple “I love you always and forever be happy and at peace”. How can I be at peace when you didn’t explain why?

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    I am so very, very thankful that she left a note for us. She wrote 2 pages. She also wrote another one for her sister. Also for 4 friends that were closest to her at the time which included her boyfriend. Did you know that most people that take their own lives do not leave any note at all? I didn’t know this before but it’s true. I wish you could have gotten more of a note. Kaitlyn told me she had been sad all her life, but that just leaves the door wide open about what she was sad about. I know you do not have to have a reason to be sad when you have depression….all could be going well and still be depressed, but I would have loved to know if there was a how. Like how are you feeling when you are sad……was it loneliness…..was it hopelessness…. But I will never know and can only guess at the hundreds of reasons it could have been but have not proof of any of them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

