Beam Me Up

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Beam Me Up

  1. Anonymous. says:

    What a delightful and radiant child, who grew to be a young lady with a lovely, sweet manner. This video was beautifully done. Kaitlyn obviously loved to be near you.

    Like

  2. AnnetteM says:

    What a wonderful smile all the way through the video. I’ve been meaning to ask: how is Kaitlyn’s garden?

    Like

  3. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. She has always had a sweet, gentle soul along with being very determined. I know the video was shaky (my poor videoing qualities) and some had a blur to the top which somehow happened when the VHS tapes were transferred to DVD. But I love them anyway.

    Like

  4. gatito2 says:

    Thank you. She had a beautiful smile.

    Her garden is doing…well, not as good as I would have hoped. The petunias have some type of rot to the base and some are stunted. However the white petunias are flourishing. The daisies look like they are dying (the leaves are dying and some of the new flowers die before they fully bloom. The Marigolds look good, though a bit stunted. The rose bush looks good and the flowers I don’t remember the name of are doing good. I planted the flowers in high quality garden soil and some bags of Miracle Grow soil. I water them regularly and pull weeds as soon as they pop their heads out of the dirt. I’ve never taken such care of flowers. I’ve probably loved them to death. 😦

    Like

  5. AnnetteM says:

    Hmm – gardens can be tricky. Mine has lots of problems too this year. There are so many aphids and other diseases that can attack. It is usually a matter of finding out what likes your conditions and growing those plants. It sounds as if some of the things you have are very happy though so you must be doing things right. I loved your post on the Cosmos by the way – I will comment, but been away a lot recently and still catching up.

    Like

  6. gatito2 says:

    I have planted petunias and marigolds off and on for 33 years and have never had this problem with them.

    A story for you: The last time I planted petunias and marigolds at that very same place, it was mine and Kaitlyn’s project together. She was probably around 16. We planted them and watered and weeded them together. However, we had a bird house on the pole that the flower garden is around and when the bird had eggs and then they hatched the momma and papa birds would attack us every time we went near there. We soon abandoned the care of the flowers in fear of our lives (or at least our eyes and head). 🙂

    Like

  7. AnnetteM says:

    That is strange – maybe the climate this year then. Us Brits love to blame the weather for everything! Of course it could be any number of other things too, but hopefully next year will be better. Love your story – I can just see the two of you trying to care for your plants while being swooped upon. Lovely memories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

