An Important article about another Medical Student’s Suicide

Dr. Pamela Wible shared this article sent to her by the brother of a medical student who was weeks before graduating med school and had matched into the residency that he wanted, but took his own life just before graduation. Please take the time to read this. So many things are similar to what happened to Kaitlyn (some not), and they were alike in many ways (but not all). The fact remains that both he and Kaitlyn were in the midst of, or on the verge of making all their dreams come true. Both super achievers and seemed to have it all.

“My Brother’s Life, Unraveled” by Alex Halperin

http://www.salon.com/2013/03/12/why_did_my_brother_take_his_life/

medstudent

About gatito2

My name is Rhonda. I'm a registered nurse, for the last 20 years, that has not been able to work since the day I learned of my daughter's death by suicide 4-12-13. (She actually died 4-11-13 and her body was not found until the 12th) Me and my husband have been married for 32 years and he's a wonderful man. We grieve in different ways. He works, I write. This is my journey through this horrible land of losing a child..
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Important article about another Medical Student’s Suicide

  1. Neal says:

    I read this and it made me sad. I recognized some behavior Kaitlyn shared with Anthony. But there was also a lot of things that Anthony did that Kaitlyn didn’t do. But, she might have done those things and she chose not to share it with me.

    I also felt while reading this that it’s a very thoughtful account. It seems to me the author thought about Anthony’s life for a long, long time after his death, and talked to a lot of people.

    It probably wasn’t clear at the time that Anthony was having a problem or that the moments the author recounted presented themselves one after another, to the same person, over a short period of time. And I think it was probably difficult to write emotionally and technically. I think it was probably hard to separate the moments that made his illness clear from all the other moments in his life.

    Like

  2. gatito2 says:

    Yes, it made me sad to read too Neal. Like you said, I saw many things Kaitlyn did that were similar to him, but then again I saw things he did that she did not. It just goes to show you that mental illness often manifests itself in a variety of ways.

    I’m sure it was very difficult for the author to write this about his broiher. It is so important that he did though. There’s more of this happening to people like he and Kaitlyn than what most people think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

